A Maytag Moment

It was a hot, hot summer day.  I drove my Honda Accord 180 miles north on the interstate to visit a new acquaintance.  We had a nice early dinner out on the town and went back to her pad.  Her apartment was a three bedroom one bathroom dwelling with a chilly outdoor pool.  She had two roommates, one I met the night of our first encounter. 

We'd known each other about three weeks or so.  Her place was furnished with some cute Ikea furniture and had a nice breeze blowing through the curtains.  It was a cozy pad.  They had a tiny galley kitchen with a fridge up against the wall.  I noticed the swing on the fridge door was awkward.  The hinges on the right side made it a touch awkward to remove mayo, beer, or whatever else you might want. 

1998 I decided I would do something about it.  Why?  Well because sometimes I think I'm more talented than I actually am.  I figured I could easily move the hinges from the right side of the fridge to the left side of the lime green appliance.  Twenty minutes into the project I discovered it would take much longer than the 60 minutes I promised this new lady friend of mine.  I had become sweaty and cranky.  I didn't know this person for more than three weeks and there I was dismantling her fridge door with nuts and bolts strewn on her kitchen floor as she watched patiently. 

She humored me with idle chit chat.  She helped me remain as level headed as possible.  It turned out there was some fridge part missing which wouldn't allow my good deed to work at all.  Four hours later I pieced the fridge door back together, put on the hinges, and closed the door.  Did I also close the door to my relationship with my new lady friend?  Did the door to the fridge close firmly as before?   No and no. 

This day I got to know someone like I've never known before.  I learned a good discussion can be as rewarding as attempting to change the swing of a fridge door.  I learned when someone can laugh at your brave attempt to perform an unnecessary good deed, you better keep them by your side.  That I did.  Of course this story is about Mrs. Lessinges and one of our first "dates".  Today is her special day.  Happy birthday to you! 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Doting Dude, Mrs. Lessinges Approved, Storytelling, Vanity is Overrated. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A Maytag Moment

  1. Heather says:

    Happy Birthday to Mrs. Lessinges! I hope she has a great day!

  2. Chris says:

    Happy Birthday N-Po!

  3. Sicilian Mama says:

    Aw! Happy Birthday Mrs. L!
    Also, I would love to hear her version of this story. What was going through her head while you were trying to “fix” the fridge? That you were sweet or a major dork? (probably both, is my guess).

  4. Bob says:

    May the joy last through the ages. I think humorous idle chit chat is what makes a good relationship work. Happy Birthday N-Po.

  5. Golden says:

    Yes! I want N-Po’s version!!!

  6. Maggie says:

    Happy Birthday Mrs. LS! She is one patient soul. But then, you are thoughtful. Maybe it was just meant to be.

  7. Pants says:

    Happy Birthday Mrs. Les Singes!!

  8. brookem says:

    Aww. Happy birthday to your girl.
    Cute story, and I like the sound of her digs. Ikea rules. So do the sweedish meatballs they have there?

  9. brookem says:

    Aww. Happy birthday to your girl!
    I like the sound of her digs! Ikea rocks my socks. I especially love the sweedish meatballs there. Mmmhmm.

  10. brookem says:

    shit and shit. it posted twice? different versions? what the hell!
    no gold star or confetti for me today.

  11. sizzle says:

    Happy Birthday to her!
    That’s a great story.

  12. egan says:

    Heather – so far, so good. She had flowers delivered to her desk, a cute sign for her in daycare, an electronic birthday card, lunch delivered to her desk, and dinner out on the town tomorrow night. I think we call it pampering.
    Chris – June 12th is always a great day.
    Sicilian Mama – her version of the story would be identical except she may mention I did the fridge repair work without a shirt and we spoke nothing but French the entire time.
    Bob – that’s so true. The chit chat is what really made me think, “this woman, she’s a keeper”.
    Golden – Mrs. Lessinges’ version will bore you. I embellished to make myself look like a hero of sorts.
    Maggie – it was just meant to be. Meeting in a dance club, it sounds even better. She was the only woman patient enough to allow me to kiss her neck. Fate? You bet.
    Pants – thank you very much.
    Brookem – it was a really cool apartment. She had some interesting neighbors below her, some god-fearing man who liked to climb the balconies.
    Brookem – I heard you the first time and yum is right.
    Brookem – you’re out of control today. It’s like your trying to be the New Sicilian Mama or Tall Chick. Aw, those were the days. No gold star is right.
    Sizzle – it was a fun day despite my ineptitude. Thanks for the birthday wishes. Geminis are alright, but not as cool as Taurians.

  13. qt says:

    Happy Birthday Mrs. LS! For some girls, like me, it isn’t the level of competency, just the fact that you a)tried and b)were using tools. A tool *belt* is always a nice accessory to bust out as a distraction. Just for future reference.

  14. sprizee says:

    I love this story, which I’ve heard before but I swear it’s because you already blogged it. No? Maybe my mind is going.
    At any rate, pass along a happy birthday to the wife. 🙂

  15. Amy says:

    Awww, that’s so sweet.

  16. Zen Wizard says:

    Lucky they didn’t have ApplianceSmart in that town–you two might have never hooked up!

  17. meno says:

    Awww. That’s so cute. Happy Borthday to the wee wife.

  18. Amanda says:

    Happy Birthday to your wife!
    Thats is definitely a memorable story. I’ve never heard of anybody attempting to fix somebody else’s fridge door before. No wonder she kept you around.

  19. Cléa says:

    Joyeux Anniversaire Mme Lessinges!
    So you were trying to impress her with both hands! Lovely. You both look so happy together. The photo made me smile this morning.

  20. JLee says:

    aw! I love that story. Happy Birthday to Mrs. Lessinges!!

  21. Matt says:

    Now that is definately a story to tell your daughter one day! I think every couple has a great “meeting” story…granted it might not be the first meeting, but there is a special meeting in there somewhere!
    Oh, and of course, Happy Birthday to Mrs. Lessinges!

  22. you two are very very very sweet.

  23. Cheryl says:

    Happy Birthday to Mrs LesSinges! And that is a pretty good story!
    My fridge hinges on the right too. It threw me off at first.

  24. tori says:

    That is such a sweet story! I love it. Happy birthday! You two are adorable together.

  25. Darlene says:

    Oh My God!!! That story is awesome!!! Happy Birthday to your wife!

  26. justrun says:

    Ah, good story!
    And happy birthday to the Mrs.!

  27. Cake Lady says:

    Happy Late Birthday Mrs. Lessinges! Oh and that is a cute picture too!

  28. ms chica says:

    You wouldn’t be a real man without at least one Maytag moment under your belt. Just be glad it didn’t involve plumbing..,
    Hope Mrs. L. has a happy one!

  29. egan says:

    QT – the thought did cross my mind to undo the bolts and screws with my teeth. Tools are good. I’m adding a tool belt to my Amazon wish list.
    Sprizee – yes, another alert blogger happened to point out this fact too. I couldn’t remember if I had shared the story or not. Oh well.
    Amy – merci, sweet is as sweet does.
    Zen Wizard – hmmm, do I dare ask what ApplianceSmart is? After your International Male post, I’m afraid to ask you any questions.
    Meno – thanks, we’re too cute for words. Somebody said that once, but they used words.
    Amanda – nobody does attempt to fix fridge doors. Why would they? I was silly and naive. It was a humbling lesson.
    Cléa – how very sweet of you. We both look so darn young in the picture. I was informed the picture I used with this post is from the night we got engaged, which would have been 2000 and not 1998. Ma faute!
    Essentially Me – mille grazie!
    JLee – many of the details from that day are lost. My memory is fading, but I still know I married a swell chick.
    Matt – thanks man, it’s very true. We all have those memorable first dates when we were perhaps a little less certain of our futures together. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
    Steppingoverthejunk – she’s the brains and the beauty behind the operation.
    Cheryl – are they now making left handed fridges?
    Tori – we try!
    Darlene – thanks, she sure is a patient person because I don’t know many others who would have endured my antics.
    Justrun – yeah, birthday dinner tonight. Thank you!
    Cake Lady – the picture is before I got glasses, that’s how I can tell it’s an old picture.
    L – how dare you call me out on my blog! Shame on you! A plague on both of your houses! You rat catcher!
    Ms Chica – I have a plumbing story too, I have decided not to share it with you glorious readers.

  30. sari says:

    Sorry I’m late, I’ve been out of town.
    Happy late birthday to the Mrs!
    I like your story and your wife is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

