Who’s Your Daddy?

Hoodie2 My very first Father's Day is in the books.  I have to admit it was a nearly perfect Sunday.  We began the day with a nice homemade breakfast.  Miraculously the clouds parted, allowing us to go for a nice long stroll.  We packed up the baby mobile and ventured out for our family bonding adventure.  Before we left though, I installed one of those fun gates designed to keep babies out of unwelcoming area such as our dining room. I felt like such a man with all my tools, nuts, and screws.  With the gate properly installed, now all I need to do is housebreak Baby Singe.

Halfway through our walk we made an impromptu pit stop at the beach so our little girl could put her feet in chilly Lake Washington.  She had a really good time watching the other kids, watching the duck and duckling, and was blinded by the many pasty white appendages.  It was finally warm enough for me to get a sunburn on my arms.  On our way back to our house, we stopped at the local Italian joint and got some yummy food. 

Sweatshirt The rest of the day was spent performing other manly duties like mowing the lawn, weeding, and grilling for my friends.  My buddy and his girlfriend made a quick detour on their way to Portland, Oregon.  We cooked up some tasty food and had good discussions about life, college, dating, kids, Priuses, home ownership, and our days of innocence. 

Being a dad is fun.  Without a doubt there have been some tough times, but those seem like blips on the radar and make you appreciate the good ones so much more.  Speaking of parenting, my wife and I consider ourselves to be "co-parents" or at least that's what some article called it when mom & dad split the duties evenly.  Huh, I wouldn't think you'd need a term for something so obvious.  There's one little task I still don't like doing, the clipping of the fingernails.  Otherwise, I'm golden.

————-

Current Obsessions: Euro 2008, Haagen-Dazs Vanilla Honey Bee ice cream, Wii Fit, The Bachelorette, and Lara Spencer.

————–

…and after 7.5 years working for Starbucks, today is my wife's final day on the coffee giant's payroll.  The transition between jobs will be interesting.  I just received my wife's farewell email to coworkers and it made me tear up a speck. 

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Baby Singe, Doting Dude, Humans are Good. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Who’s Your Daddy?

  1. Sicilian Mama says:

    About fucking time.
    Ok, now I’ll read.

  2. egan says:

    Sicilian Mama – I know, I know, I know. Much going on right now so I’ve been pacing myself.

  3. Sicilian Mama says:

    Baby Singe didn’t wait on you hand and foot on Sunday? What’s up with that? It was father’s day, yo…what’s the point of having kids if they don’t do the outside chores for you?
    And don’t give me the “she’s not even one” excuse, either. I don’t want to hear it. Kids need earn their keep!
    Ok, all kidding aside, I’m glad you had a wonderful first father’s day. I agree with you, it is weird to have a term like “co-parents” for something like that. But sadly, there are still families out there where only one parent does everything. I’m glad that your family is not like that.

  4. Sicilian Mama says:

    I haven’t been first commenter in a while. What an exciting way to end my Wednesday.
    It’s the little things, Egan, that make me happy. And yes, that’s what she said.

  5. egan says:

    Sicilian Mama – Baby Singe has me wrapped around her little fingers. I’m a sucker for her already, but that’s not a bad thing in my book. Look at her, she’s pretty. Co-parenting is a sad concept. No parent should be pulling significantly more weight than the other. I’m too idealistic.
    Sicilian Mama – congrats on number one. You rocked that puppy. Have a swell evening watching shit tv.

  6. churlita says:

    I’m glad you had a great first Father’s DAy. That whole parenting can be kind of rewarding sometimes, huh?

  7. justrun says:

    “Huh, I wouldn’t think you’d need a term for something so obvious. ”
    My thoughts exactly.
    And that ice cream sounds like a dream in a bucket. Must find.

  8. John Esberg says:

    Dude, I don’t touch nails either.

  9. Golden says:

    Uhh.. No.. I’m “Golden”
    😉
    I have been hearing about the plight of bees lately.. of all the goings on in the world… that, for some reason, struck a chord with me. Maybe it’s because I read ‘The Secret Life of Bees’..

  10. brookem says:

    umm… “speck?” that’s how you’re going to spell that? i do NOT approve.
    glad to hear you had such a swell dad’s day though!

  11. Cheryl says:

    happy belated father’s day!

  12. sizzle says:

    I can see your daughter has your flair in front of the camera. 😉

  13. Happy Father’s Day sweets!

  14. sprizee says:

    I just heard Right Said Fred sing “She’s too sexy for that hat. Too sexy for that hat. Whadya think about that?” in my head. The first picture is killer.

  15. meno says:

    I used to bite off her nails to avoid having to use the scissors.
    (Look! I can spell scissors!)
    Happy Belated Daddy Day.

  16. tori says:

    Your father’s day sounds great! What a nice day!
    Do you really watch The Bachelorette? I watch it, but haven’t met anyone else who will admit to it!
    I can’t figure out which day you wrote this so I either hope your wife HAD a great last day, or HAS one. Moving on from a job is never easy.

  17. Tall Chick says:

    Happy Last Day to Mrs. Les Singe!!
    And a happy belated Father’s Day to you, too. 🙂 Baby Singe just gets cuter and cuter, if that’s possible. 🙂 I dreamed I had another one last night. Yikes! ^_^

  18. Tall Chick says:

    s
    (just throwing in the one I missed)

  19. Therese says:

    Man you have a cute kid.

  20. Darlene says:

    Ooh, cutting nails was always the worst.
    I’m glad your baby-gate episode went better than the fridge door.
    Glad to hear you had the 1st of many great Father’s Days!

  21. JLee says:

    Sounds like a good day, although you shouldn’t be working so much on Father’s Day!!

  22. sari says:

    I don’t like to do the fingernails either, but then again, sometimes it’s like living with Freddy Kruger if you don’t.
    Happy First Father’s Day!

  23. egan says:

    Churlita – yeah, parenting can be rewarding. It’s quite fun to see the world through a young child’s eyes.
    Justrun – the term “co-parenting” is lame. I would assume parenting is a 50/50 deal. Apparently that’s not always the case. I had some more ice cream tonight, good stuff.
    John Esberg – hello sir and welcome to my blog. Nails are really hard to clip on an awake child. Rumor has it you need to clip them when they’re sleeping. Thanks for the visit.
    Golden – I thought you might take exception to my “golden” claim. Honey bees are good, but I don’t like wasps. Hey, let’s start offshore oil drilling, you with me?
    Brookem – look it up young lady. It’s spelled the right way. I’ve trusted many of your vocabulary, but now you must conform and use “speck”. Thank you kindly for assimilating.
    Cheryl – thank you and thank you. You thanked me in the last post too. You’re all over the Father’s Day stuff, it’s very cute.
    Sizzle – I suppose she’s learned something from me and her mom. She loves to stare us down while we attempt to snap her picture.
    Essentially Me – mille grazie!
    Sprizee – are you a model, do you shake your tush on the catwalk? I like it very much. Now I can’t shake the image of a buff guy ripping of his t-shirt.
    Meno – ha, I love your comment about scissors. I bit my own nails until about 18 years old. Now I clip them at work because I know it’s uncouth.
    Tori – I wrote the post on Wednesday afternoon. We watch The Bachelorette because there isn’t jack shit on tv. There’s a dude from my hometown, Kirkland, on the show. It will be interesting to watch next week when they come to Seattle.
    Tall Chick – another baby? Think of all the tax benefits you’d get with a fifth child. I mean I know I’m here for that very reason. Thanks for the Father’s Day wishes.
    Therese – hey you, how goes it? Nice to see you around this place. My daughter isn’t only smart and teething, she’s also very cute as you noticed. Merci.
    Darlene – I did have a thought about manuals while assembling the gate, it sure could use improvement. Manuals are so poorly written most of the time. Ugh. Cutting nails is harder as they get older; more squirmy.
    JLee – I was pampered throughout much of the day. I actually really like mowing the lawn. That being said, I need to find a contractor who will come by twice a month to mow.
    Sari – the unruly nails are a hazard for the other kids in daycare. Also I don’t want to see anymore blood inside her ear. Thanks for the Father’s Day wishes.

  24. Lynda says:

    It’s kind of sad that they have to come up with a term for both parents raising their child.
    Sounds like you had a great day, though, and I really love that first picture, even though all of them are so cute.

  25. VIVA says:

    One tip from this coparenting unti to another. Clip the nails when they are asleep.
    Happy First Fathers day!

  26. Sicilian Mama says:

    I am so bored today that this is, like, the 20th time I’ve clicked over to your blog. I feel like a stalker or something. But seriously…while Anna is adorable and I always love looking at her pictures (the one with the hoodie makes her look gansta…too, too cute!), I need something to read. What is with no one posting on Fridays? Maybe I just need to spread out my morning blog reading throughout the day rather than all during my morning hot cocoa.
    Also, do you update your blogroll every day? I was going through there yesterday looking for something to read and found one that’s no longer there. Which, by the way, you really should put disclaimers on your links. Because this particular blog had me bawling all afternoon. I’m sure you have an idea of which one I’m talking about. My co-workers kept asking if I was alright…I couldn’t tell them that I was sobbing because of a damn blog.
    So I realize that this is a really long comment. I should probably stop and just go email you like I was going to do anyway, but now that I’m here, I might as well keep going. What are your plans for the weekend? Anything fun? I’m going to try and not melt since it’s so damn hot here. Seriously…I’m dying when walking from the building to my car at the end of the day.
    One more thing – do you have any suggestions/advice for childbirth classes? We have our first one tomorrow. I’m excited, but I have no idea what to expect!
    Ok, that’s all for now. Hope you’ve had a good week and that you have a good weekend.
    Ciao!

  27. Pants says:

    Man, that vanilla honey bee ice cream looks AWESOME!

  28. Tiffany says:

    I cut Luke’s nails while I sing to him. It seems he prefers the tunes from “The Sound of Music”.
    Happy first Father’s Day!! Luke wore a onesie that said “Cool Just Like Daddy”

  29. mez says:

    happy father’s day! Sounds like a lovely day (life!) 😀

  30. Gwen says:

    Hey, we’ve been watching Euro 2008, too! We are, like, so simpatico, E.
    Happy very very very late Father’s Day!

  31. sandra says:

    Oh my lord. I’m in cuteness overload with the first pic.

  32. Michael says:

    Indeed, coparenting is lame. I didn’t know there was any other way to be.
    A million years ago, my wife had a very difficult go with the nail clipper, with blood everywhere. No harm done, just anguish.
    Other than that, we split everything, I think.

  33. egan says:

    Lynda – a damn good day was had on Father’s Day. Heck, the weather has been awesome ever since Father’s Day. Co-parenting, what a boring idea.
    Viva – someone at daycare told me about the sleeping fingernail trick. I suppose it could work, but they also say “never wake a sleeping baby”.
    Sicilian Mama – I’ll have to check with you on all this stuff, mainly want to hear about your parenting class. Yes, I removed the mattlogelin.com link for some reason. I think mainly because my comments left there aren’t getting approved and there seems to be a weird undercurrent of crazy women.
    Pants – it really is awesome. My current fave though is a local ice cream, french lavender. So damn good.
    Tiffany – The Sound of Music, now that’s original. There has to be some sort of distraction or else baby not happy. I like Luke’s onesie.
    Mez – hey, thanks for the text message response. You rock.
    Gwen – don’t you know, simpatico is right. Who’s going to win today? Germany or Turkey? I’m guessing Germany will only because half of Turkey’s team is injured or suspended.
    Sandra – I know, the hat is so adorable. It’s fun to watch her reach up and yank the sucker off her head.
    Michael – usually the parent is more distraught than the child when clipping their nails. Co-parenting is all the rage.

Leave a Reply

