Every Step I Take

they’ll be watching me… every move I make, every vow I break, they’ll be watching me.

Okay seriously, the last place you’d expect to see quoted Police lyrics is on my blog.  I mean, come on, the guy is very overrated, but let’s table that discussion for another day.  

Friday morning when I get up I will strap on [don’t go there] a GPS unit and motion sensor to my body.  I will wear both devices for seven full days as part of a voluntary research project for our local Children’s Hospital.  This should be really fascinating to see how active I am over the course of the next week.  It’s kind of weird to think about the places you frequent during your daily routine.  Now I’m a guinea pig in the research.

As a child I always thought it would be super cool if there was a way to see on a map all the places I’ve been.  I wanted so bad to see a detailed diagram of all my footprints.  Being part of a large family, my youthful wanderings weren’t well documented thus I wanted validation of the places my parents claimed.  

“see right here Egan, you were in Mexico for three days in 1975.  Check the map”

While that sort of technology didn’t exist back then, it does now.  So for the next seven days I will have a chance to run around town and skew the results of this project.  Honestly my goal isn’t to skew the results in the least bit, but it will be very good motivation to be active.  Plus there’s a triathlon to do in nine days.  

I’ve been instructed not to wear the devices while swimming.  Sorry readers, this means no pictures of me in a Speedo with my GPS and motion sensor on my right hip.  However, I can send autographed photos if that’s more to your liking.  Thank you for your continued support.  You belong to me…

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Officially Bizarre, Opinionated, Science, Speedo™sphere. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Every Step I Take

  1. Chris says:

    De Doo Doo Doo, De Da Da Da, it’s all I’ve got to say to you, at least for now!
    Enjoy the experiment.

  2. Lynn says:

    Please be sure not to strap on the device near any vital areas…just in case Anna wants a sibling:~) Wouldn’t want anything besides the results of the study skewed:~)

  3. Sicilian Mama says:

    So what kind of places will you be avoiding while wearing said device? Aside from the pool, of course. Just curious. Also, are you getting paid for this research? Or are you just doing it for a good cause?
    Ugh, I hate the police. Seriously. Especially the song Chris quoted. I think I hate the police more than I hate John Mayer.
    No, wait…it might be a tie. Although, I think (ok, I know) I’d be able to sit through Every Little Thing She Does is Magic before I’d be able to sit through Your Body is a Wonderland bullshit.

  4. Gwen says:

    How about just an autographed Speedo?

  5. Chris says:

    It just occured to me that if you can’t swim with GPS then you can’t shower as as such, “Don’t stand so, Don’t stand so, don’t stand so close to me.”
    Thanks for coming, please tip your wait staff…

  6. ms chica says:

    Wow so much intel. How do you know your whereabouts won’t be sold to the government? What reassurance do you have about WHOSE really watching you.
    On the other hand, it’s a lot like being Billy from the Family Circus.

  7. ms chica says:

    crap. who’s NOT whose.

  8. Pants says:

    When I was a kid I thought God had a GIANT book similar to your map fantasy for each person. Now? Not so much.

  9. egan says:

    Chris – wow, those are all the lyrics to that ever so annoying song. Look you too can write songs and love yourself heaps.
    Lynn – well, the devices have to go on my hip. I will protect the jewels.
    Sicilian Mama – I am getting a nominal amount of money. I wear the devices for seven days now, then seven more days in 2010, and seven more days in 2012. I’m in it for the long haul. We can both agree on our dislikes for the two artists. Both want to appear sappy, but in my mind come off as highly conceited.
    Gwen – this isn’t the first, nor will it be the last, time you’ve asked for an autographed Speedo. Don’t think I don’t keep track.
    Chris – correct you are. I’m supposed to remove the devices prior to showering. I skipped the shower this morning so I could give them an accurate reading of all my morning activities. All of them.
    Ms Chica – ha, I thought about that. What if there’s a microphone on the GPS unit? They’d be really bored listening to me do nothing all day. I’m about to give the GPS a working.
    Ms Chica – it’s all good.
    Pants – my fantasy map needs to exist. I’m thinking I need a baby GPS for Anna. One she can use to track her wanderings when she gets older. Or I could blog about every place she’s been.

  10. Golden or NTKTOK says:

    I want a GPS for my 13 year old kid!!

  11. Big Bro says:

    damn if someone didn’t already mention it, but this technology was alive and abused every Sunday in that insipid “Family Circus” cartoon. Oh how funny it was to see how the kids lost the baseball mitt “just walking down stairs” when they really went all over…ha ha ha!
    Just don’t do something stupid while “tagged” like the good reverend did.

  12. JLee says:

    Do you wear it whilst on the toilet? My mind just goes there. Sorry. 😉

  13. meno says:

    Sting may be overrated, but his arms aren’t. Mmmmm.
    Oh wait, was there more?

  14. Cheryl says:

    Totally agree with you about Sting/The Police.
    It will be interesting to see where you’re going and what you’re doing. I feel like in the end, mine would be kind of dull.

  15. Cléa says:

    Stop teasing with the Speedo!
    I happen to like the Police/Sting. Am i still welcome here?

  16. Big Bro says:

    So here I sit, indoors, in ATL, because, “there’s a little black spot on the sun today…it’s the same old thing as yesterday. i’ve stood here before inside the pouring rain…” disasterously crappy weather today!
    i can sing for you too!

  17. kelwhy says:

    that’s a really cool program. I like it. how do you end up being the guinea pig in something like this??? hmmm…

  18. Tod says:

    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.
    Sending out an S.O.S.

  19. Tod says:

    The Police are a Band…
    Sting is a person…
    He’s the one who’s overrated NOT The Police. Rock the 80’s bad-ass!

  20. churlita says:

    I’ve always loved the Police too. Sting I can take or leave.
    What an interesting project. I’m interested to see how that goes.

  21. justrun says:

    Interesting.
    So how’s it going?

  22. K says:

    I’m just here to say that Sting officially did and still rocks. As did the Police. Don’t worry, I won’t show my face around here for another 100 posts!

  23. egan says:

    Golden – you know you can buy one and micromanage his every movement if you so desire. It’s available for you at the low low cost of $49.99, if you tell a friend.
    BigBro – I do have to be careful about the adult entertainment stores I visit during the next few days.
    JLee – damn right I do, I was told to only take it off during sleep or when it could be submerged. I’m a dedicated guinea pig.
    Meno – so you like his arms eh? If I do enough yoga, my arms can be like his. Yeah Wii Fit.
    Cheryl – I’m really not sure how this tracking data will be used. I have to do it again in two and four years. I hope someday you’ll hear about a study done involving 1000 adults in the Seattle area and their activity levels. You can then say you knew a participant. So cool. Sting sucks!
    Cléa – mais bien sur, but it still means I can tease you about the dreadful lyrics in Police songs. Capiche?
    Big Bro – now repeat the chorus until you want to punch the stereo in the dashboard.
    Kelwhy – I’m not sure how I was chosen other than geography. The woman told me I was selected because of where we live. I’m curious if they knew I was a parent or not.
    Tod – wow, you appear out of the forests of The DR to give me crap about Police lyrics. You’re timing is incredible buddy. How are you? We miss you and for some damn reason I’m tearing up. Shit, I guess I really miss you. I hope all is well in The DR.
    Tod – thanks for the clarification. His bandmates have to be held accountable as well though, they elected to allow the repetitive songs to be recorded. I’m just saying.
    Churlita – I need to clarify, I said I can’t stand The Police. Sting is a tool, from what I can tell. I don’t want him standing too close to me.
    Justrun – the GPS project is going well so far. I will give it a good workout over the next few days with running, soccer, and cycling. Yeah me.
    K – I still don’t like him. Looks great for his age, but he’s still a tad self righteous. You do say such sweet things.

  24. That song always creeped me out.

Leave a Reply

