Button Your Lip Baby

There are days when I wish I could cave.  There are impulses which course through my veins, demanding I share.  If I could just pluck away some quick posts about what’s on my mind and why I’m annoyed… life would be so much better.  

My rational mind always wins though and the correct decision is made.  I grimace.  I sweat.  I talk about what happened.  I think about how the event (or experience) could make such a fabulous tale.   We spend a lot of time doing what we do for a paycheck.  This ensures we have a roof over our heads, can eat, raise our kids, ourselves, and whatever else it is we do.  

Suck it up and don’t say a peep.  That’s what I have to do.  Oh how I’d love to share, but it would be very unwise because this virtual place of mine is very public.  I realize I’m rather vague with this post and that’s by design.  Some day, some day I will be able to blog about work.  In the future there will be a day when this blog will be littered with antics of my present jay oh bee.  If only… 
About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Opinionated. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Button Your Lip Baby

  1. christina says:

    Hey Egan, Don’t let The Man get you down. Also, I love the new blog design — I don’t know how “new” it actually is; that’s one of the drawbacks of using Google Reader. You miss out on the aesthetics. Anyway, I hope you feel less annoyed soon.

  2. kirk says:

    I know what you mean E. I know what you mean.

  3. Chris says:

    You may or mayn’t recall that I was suspended, without pay for 20 days initially then reduced to 5 for exercising my first ammendment rights – you are right, sometimes we have to just suck it up, it’s okay if it’s for the right reasons and preservation of family resources is as good a reason as any. Peace!

  4. brookem says:

    i hear you efo- i never ever blog about work. it’s just not cool for me.
    you said jay oh bee? ooohhhh boy. oh em gee?
    kthxbai.

  5. Aww that sucks that you had a shitty day at work. You should make up a super secret blog that you can vent on about things like this. Maybe then you might feel a touch better even if no one knows about it. At least you get funny phone calls about movie plugs. Hope today is better!!
    🙂

  6. qt says:

    Mmm, yes, work. I can’t blog about it either, and on the suck-ass days, I really wish I could. Blech.

  7. Sicilian Mama says:

    Oh how I totally understand. Good call on not going into details in the post. Yeah it sucks when you have to be vague, but sometimes it’s for the best. I’ve known too many people (both in blog-land and real-life) who have gotten in trouble for blogging about work negatively. Just not worth it in the end.
    You know where to find me if you need an ear. I’m always down for listening, yo. And if you need me to bust a cap in someone’s ass, I totally will.

  8. JLee says:

    I hear you. I censor myself quite a bit not only about work, but other things because as we know, the internet is anything but private!

  9. BigBro says:

    are u writing notes in the dust that has collected on the computer screens around you?
    I loved what you wrote on the double-parked truck last year!

  10. Golden or NTKTOK says:

    Oh man.. I REALLY wanna know. For more than one reason.. could it be because we share the same MAN? Wait.. that doesn’t sound right…

  11. Pants says:

    This post makes me extremely curious about your current jay-o-bee drama. I have some of my own to share…though not publicly, of course.

  12. meno says:

    I don’t have a jay oh bee.
    So there!
    But i used to, so i understand. You are doing the right thing, but i wish you could spill.

  13. Cléa says:

    Don’t do it Egan. For one, you’ll sleep better at night. I think most of us have been in a situation where we wanted to spill. I think this is one of these, you’ll regret it if you do.
    Courage, mon ami.

  14. Tiffany says:

    I hear you loud and clear. I’m in quite the same rock…or hard place.
    If I weren’t on the East coast I’d commiserate over drinks.

  15. Maggie says:

    I’ll stick around. But honestly, you’re pretty cool now, without the stories of work.
    I understand the impulse. When I had an office job, there were always bitch buddies from previous jobs or trusted people at the current job and those sessions over lunch talking about the sheer idiocy was glorious fun because it relieved the angst of it and felt good to have someone else who understood.

  16. ms chica says:

    The word ONLY really resonates.

  17. egan says:

    EVERYONE – yep, yep, and yep. I know what not to say on this very public and well circulated blog. I was able to chat with some people and it made me feel so much better. BigBro, I haven’t left any handwritten notes on parked cars recently. There’s still plenty of time for antics like those.

  18. you should work for yourself instead, like me. Then you just fight with the voices in your head. Heh heh. (no, I am kidding, I dont do that) Chin up. Hope things are goood now.

Leave a Reply

