Friends & Family Love

The car wasn’t parked in the driveway like usual. I didn’t think too much of it. I unpacked Anna from the Subaru and went inside our house. The long week was officially over and I was thankfully home with my wife and daughter.

My wife suggested we go on our post-work pet hunt. Baby Singe really loves the felines and canines so we must indulge her. Only a few pets were out, yet I heard some funny noises. Once again I shrugged off the noises as an odd neighbor or my stomach.

My wife’s new BlackBerry is vibrating like crazy. I nearly snatch the device out of her paws. Finally it stops chirping as we wander inside our house. My wife stays outside with Anna when after a few minutes I’m begrudgingly summoned outside.

“Egan, come out here quick. You’ve got to see your daughter.”

I sarcastically holler back, “good thing I’m not shaking a deuce” as I leave the house.

SURPRISE!

3 adult men lunge at me. My good buddies were there to whisk me away.

I’ve been abducted by my friends. At first it felt like a rerun of my bachelor party. Then it resembled an intervention. I’m happy to report I haven’t been harmed. It’s a belated Father’s Day gift my wife thoughtfully spearheaded.

My wife and friends pulled off a great surprise Friday afternoon. I type this post on my iPod touch 200 miles from home while laying on a bed. It’s a guys weekend. We’ve already stayed up way too late, had some beers, talked about Al Gore, parenthood, women, college, the digital underground, and much much more. They did right and me likey very much.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Humans are Good. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Friends & Family Love

  1. Tiffany says:

    After having a long, crappy week, that’s just sweet. Enjoy and forget all about the daily grind!

  2. christina says:

    Oh, wow, what a great surprise! Have an awesome weekend!!

  3. kirk says:

    Cool weekend with the boys. Have fun.
    Shaking a deuce must be a PNW thing?

  4. meno says:

    What fun! I think i like your wife and friends.

  5. qt says:

    Good times – your wife deserves mad props.

  6. brookem says:

    boys weekend!!! have fun! such a sweet gift!

  7. Chris says:

    You deserved it, what a sweet and thoughtful idea on N-Po’s part.
    Did you ever drop that deuce?

  8. brandy says:

    I’ve said it before and I will say it again- your wife sounds pretty awesome. I’m almost glad she doesn’t have a blog, I may like her more than you.
    I joke.
    Possibly.
    Have an excellent weekend Egan!

  9. sizzle says:

    That’s so awesome- have a great time!
    (I haven’t been here in a bit but love the “new” look.)

  10. Amanda says:

    Sounds like fun. Your wife deserves a huge present for this fantastic surprise!

  11. Cheryl says:

    Awesome! Enjoy the rest of you weekend!

  12. Golden or NTKTOK says:

    Ok.. what the hell is ‘shaking a deuce’? I’m probably going to regret asking… maybe? and .. I can hear you all snickering at me right now for not knowing.
    and yeah.. your wife rocks.

  13. Aww so sweet! And coincidental! I had a girls’ weekend up north but am back now. It was just what I needed! Hope you had a great time!

  14. ms chica says:

    Sweet!
    Sometimes that intuitive woman thing turns out to be a good thing.

  15. Pants says:

    Oh, phew! For a second there I thought this was going to be neighborhood watch material.
    Sounds like a perfect weekend! Mrs. Les Singes rules!

  16. Sicilian Mama says:

    Awesome! Mrs. L is very crafty! I hope you had a great weekend!!

  17. tori says:

    Your wife rocks. I think I might love her.

  18. Tricia says:

    HOW AWESOME! I’m stealing your wifes idea – my husband needs to get away – good one!
    Hope you enjoy! I would love a weekend talking about Al Gore. WOO HOO! Seriously, you know me. I love Al Gore – and all things liberal – and CAPS!

  19. egan says:

    Tiffany – it was a very nice surprise to see my friends after work on Friday. Even better to know I got to spend the whole weekend with them. Lucky me.
    Christina – thanks, we did have an awesome weekend. I’ll spill the details very soon.
    Kirk – shaking a deuce isn’t something you know? How about 2Girls1Cup? Just asking.
    Meno – there’s a lot to like about my wife and friends. I think we might have a new annual tradition.
    QT – damn right she does. I bought her a mug from Winthrop, but I’m thinking that’s not quite reciprocal.
    Brookem – a wicked sweet time was had by all. Notice I got “wicked” and “sweet” in there? Just for you I say. Enjoy your Tuesday off as much as possible.
    Chris – of course I dropped the deuce, but it wasn’t until much later. I was kidding when I said I was in the middle of shaking a deuce. It’s how I roll.
    Brandy – it’s completely okay with me. My wife is a very talented person and that includes writing. She’s gifted with the pen if you ask me. I’ve encouraged her to blog, but I don’t think it’s ever going to happen. So I blog for both of us.
    Sizzle – thanks, I never really spent any time in Winthrop before. Now I would go back often. It’s a very cool place and feels miles away from the city. Heck, we could see the milky way. Hey, does my blog look too much like yours now?
    Amanda – I couldn’t agree more. I will make sure to spoil her soon enough. It’s a cyclical process when you’re married.
    Cheryl – thanks, we did enjoy the weekend. So much so we’ve been swapping emails all day. It’s fair to call us dorks.
    Golden – you’re not the only one to ask what it means. Do you know what a “hot carl” or “cleveland steamer” is? It’s nothing like that, but sort of is.
    Essentially Me – no way! I will have to hear all about yours. What do women talk about on a weekend getaway?
    Ms. Chica – you better believe the intuition thing paid off. I’m so happy my wife was able to coordinate this outing. Great times indeed.
    Pants – I can see where you’d think this could be a neighborhood watch thing based on how I started the story. I think my friends scared a few neighbors by hiding in the bushes. There’s your neighborhood crime watch angle.
    Sicilian Mama – me likes crafty very much. It keeps you on your toes and introduced us to a cool new part of the state I haven’t seen much of before this past weekend.
    Tori – it’s fine to love her. No touching though.

  20. THAT IS AWESOME!!! Your wifey must love you very much. And I sure hope you appreciate that woman! (and your friends) How cool that must be!

  21. Golden or NTKTOK says:

    E says: Do you know what a “hot carl” or “cleveland steamer” is? It’s nothing like that, but sort of is.
    I have no idea what these are either.
    Not sure I need to know.. but the curiousity is killing me. Not sure I should google these phrases at work.

  22. egan says:

    stepping over the junk – I cherish the ground they walk on. They are the wind beneath my wings. Seriously, I have a great wife and equally as remarkable friends. No doubt about it.
    Golden – yeah, probably best to wait until you get home. Check out “goatsee” too while you’re at it.

  23. sari says:

    Sounds like a great time, it’s nice she planned that out for you!

  24. You have the most awesome wife ever!!

Leave a Reply

