Triple Word Score

Alright, I’m curious to hear your opinions on a certain matter.  Facebook had an application available to users called Scrabulous.  The game, one I never won, was played by millions of Facebook users.  The online version of the classic board game was made by two Indian brothers and was considered an unauthorized version of the game. 


Scrabulous, has officially been removed from Facebook in the U.S. and Canada.  You can learn more about it here.  What are your thoughts on the matter?  Do you support the removal of the application?  Would you go so far as to boycott Hasbro and Mattel (the two companies who own the intellectual property rights to Scrabble)?  Or is this a silly waste of time to discuss on my blog?  Maybe you’ve never used Facebook… if that’s you, I’ll make it up to you later this week.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Egan Wants to Know. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Triple Word Score

  1. brookem says:

    my roommate says it’s bullshit. she says if they don’t get it back in action she will be one unhappy customer.

  2. egan says:

    Brookem – we then have 1 Against Facebook’s decision. And what’s your take Brookem? Do you give a shit or not?

  3. christina says:

    I’m a little torn. I mean, it was a lot of fun on Facebook. But at the same time, it was such an obvious violation — in that way it’s kind of inexcusable. Hasbro has every right to demand they pull the application.
    Now I feel like a grinch.

  4. egan says:

    Christina – 1 in Support. Personally I side with you, but I will save my full opinion on the matter until later. Call me Grinch.

  5. I think that Scrabulous is a complete rip off of the game and whoever designed it SHOULD pay rights to the company who has the patent on it. It’s only fair. However having said that, are these two brothers making a profit on Scrabulous? My guess would be no. If that’s the case then what’s the big deal? Corporations always think in dollar bills so of course they would want to make money off of it.
    Now truthfully I could give two shits because I got bored of Scrabulous a long time ago. I still have like 5 games that I need to make a move on and it’s been months. Ooops.

  6. egan says:

    Essentially Me – I can’t tell which side you support based on your comment. At first you seemed against the Scrabulous brothers. Then you got angry at corporations and made them sound bad. Which one is it? Oh, you don’t have to worry about those unfinished games any longer. Your guilt can be removed.

  7. Maggie says:

    I’ve never seen it so basically my comment here is space filler and fluff.
    I’m good at space filler and fluff.

  8. I agree with the corporation.

  9. egan says:

    Maggie – ha, I like you. Ha, je pense que tu es drole.
    Essentially Me – okay, now we have 2 Supporting Facebook. Thank you for clarifying.

  10. kirk says:

    Clearly Hasbro/Mattel own the game and should no allow others to usurp their intellectual property. But the big toy company could have paid the Indian guys a few bucks for their work and had a great platform to advertise their games without causing such a PR fallout. From what I understand Scrabulous gets mucho mas visits/players than the official Scrabble(tm) game site. But just like how the old movie/mp3 companies would rather sue their customers than provide some out of the box thinking that could make them more money downstream, the board game guys don’t “get it” either.

  11. Chris says:

    If there is a standing copyright and/or patent, then I feel strongly in favor of the owner of such. However, were I the owner of that copyright, I’d lean more toward a profit sharing model than some crueler form of punishment.
    I don’t think anyone would deny that Scrabulous is a blatant duplicate of the Scrabble game, and I suspect there is advertising revenue to be had especially for an application of such popularity. I do think that the developers of scrabulous deserve compensation for developing the app if in fact Scrabble chooses to brand it and bring it back (which I am hoping for).

  12. Cheryl says:

    I don’t Facebook so I don’t know from experience. I guess the owners of the game have a point, but just let people play…

  13. Tiffany says:

    I’m with Kirk. I highly doubt the brothers Scrabulous were making some coin on it, so why not reward them for bringing new life into a game they make a sh*tload of money off of rather than alienating them and making Hasbro look bad quite honestly. Anytime Big Bad Corporation goes after Little Independent Person With An Idea, it never bodes well for Big Bad Corporation’s public persona.

  14. Pants says:

    Though I have a Facebook account I have never played Scrabulous. Mostly because my cat and I like to play the board game. It’s so impersonal online.

  15. brandy says:

    Scrabulous was the only way I could show off that I knew “QAT” was a word. Clearly that alone is reason enough to bring it back.

  16. brandy says:

    And as you can see from the timestamp, I’m up late. You want to know why? Scrabulous withdrawls. Fuck corporations.
    I’m in an angry mood, but you know why so I think it’s okay to leave hostile messages here… right?

  17. Sicilian Mama says:

    Ha. I laugh…I’m not sure why, but the fact you’re blogging about this makes me smile.
    Since I no longer Facebook (that can be a verb, right?), I really don’t give a shit one way or another. And if I did still Facebook, I probably wouldn’t really give a shit one way or another. Mainly because I can see both sides on this matter and I’d never be able pick one. Therefore I stand in the “meh…who cares?” camp.
    I mean, really…I’m pretty sure there are bigger things going on in the world to worry about than whether you can waste your time playing scrabble on some networking site or not. Not that I’m knocking you talking about it on your blog – because that’s all good – you have a good array of topics, so I’ll forgive you for this one. Plus, I think that’s why you chose to blog about this topic…at least that’s what I’m hoping was your reason behind it. And I think I’m having some third trimester grumpiness. So it’s probably best if you just ignore me.

  18. Golden or NTKTOK says:

    Honestly.. I just don’t care. I am more concerned about my venti americano right now…it’s got issues..

  19. JLee says:

    I think it’s silly. We had a little podunk store here called “Sarah’s Secret” or something of that nature that sold lingerie. Victoria’s Secret sued them even though they were this tiny little store that I had never heard of and I thought it was ridiculous.

  20. Gwen says:

    I stopped playing Scrabulous because I got impatient with games that took days to finish. Oh, and, I could never seem to win. Fine, you’re right, that was the real reason.
    Wait, you mean you want an opinion? I like speedos.
    At the Olympics, anyway.

  21. Big Bro says:

    Relax, like Frankie says…they’ve commissioned a new version to be done for Facebook. the company that does all the football and baseball videos (EA I believe) is creating an online version specifically for Facebook…
    now breathe…

  22. egan says:

    Kirk – so it sounds like you’re in favor of the brothers? Noted.
    Chris – interesting take on the situation. I’m not sure I believe they deserve anything, but I will get into that a bit more with my follow-up post.
    Cheryl – you don’t Facebook? I like you.
    Tiffany – I’m not really sure money should have anything to do with it. Strip away the money and think about what’s really happening.
    Pants – Jack Jack is awesome with those damn Q words I bet. Felines are very smart. I like that you’ve shunned Facebook.
    Brandy – I recall your prowess on the Scrabulous circuit. We had a couple close games, but in the end you always won. Damn you!
    Brandy – yes, it’s very okay to leave hostile message on a sympathetic blogger’s site. I feel you. Say whatever the hell you want here, just don’t call me a funny or cute and we’ll be fine.
    Sicilian Mama – aw, the irony right? Here I am mentioning the topic and giving it way more time than it probably deserves. Third trimester represent.
    Golden – how about now? I bet you’re fast asleep dreaming about americanos still.
    JLee – I see where you’re coming from. What’s challenging here is what companies have to do to save their copyright/trademarks. I learned a lot about what Starbucks has to go through to save their trademark so I can see why Sarah’s Secret may have been scrutinized.
    Gwen – you’re back.. and better than ever. I’m very happy you like Speedos. I’m wearing one right now as I type this response. Sometimes I sleep in them. Keeps the family close. I should challenge you to some online games. You’re a worthy opponent.
    Big Bro – yes, I’m aware there’s a new version coming out. I haven’t played in months because I got tired of games never finishing.

  23. brookem says:

    yeah… i don’t really “give a shit” as you put it. 🙂 at least, for ME. i hope it comes back in action for those that do enjoy it.

  24. egan says:

    Brookem – look how diplomatic you are. I like that about you. On one hand you don’t give a shit; on the other, you hope it comes back. Well played.

Leave a Reply

