Limbeaux

Hello, my name is Egan Limbeaux. The job countdown remains steady at four days. I’m in a holding pattern as I’ve been told a promising position at my office, which was frozen immediately following our December layoffs, might become available. Those in the know are aware my clock is ticking. After January 31st, I’m a free agent. I will simply be out of a job and “free” to do what I want… which is fairly appealing.

“Free” you say. So far I dig completing some nagging house projects. Mrs. Lessinges has made it clear I will have a “honey to do list” if I’m out of work. I suppose I don’t have any complaints since she’ll be my sugar spouse.

I honed my skills by fixing our dryer vent over the weekend. There’s no possible way it will unhook itself from the wall ever again. Last week it popped out after I hung a new shelf. My duct tape patch job didn’t do the trick. Look a fool I failed to remind my wife prior to her drying a load of laundry. Drying towels without the vent connected, oops! Water vapor was everywhere.

My next household task will be fixing the dishwasher drain pipe. Presently when washing dishes in the sink, some water backflows into our dishwasher. This could have been prevented had our installers done it correctly. Now yours truly will have to fix their install which was done two years ago. Uh huh, it took me about a year to notice the problem and about another 3-5 months to call a repairperson.
=============
My in-laws are in town staying in our basement. It’s nice to have them visit and under our roof. Baby Singe is enjoying her time with the grandparents who she doesn’t see very often. Chicagoland represent! Their presence is why I have a renewed desire to get stuff done around the house.

The relationships with in-laws becomes rather complicated when a child is brought into the mix. I know I’ve said it before, but it needs to be mentioned again. It’s hard enough to figure out your own ways to raise a child. Then mix in advice from relatives and you’ve got yourself a nice family cocktail. Cheers!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Don't Quit Your Day Job, Grown-ups, Housecapades. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Limbeaux

  1. justrun says:

    Sugar Spouse. Ha!
    Here’s to cocktails with the in-laws! Wait, isn’t that what you meant?

  2. Bob says:

    When it comes to child rearing I only give advice when asked. That is a dangerous area to venture into and expect to return unscathed.

  3. Maggie says:

    Ah yes the cocktail. Not necessarily all that appealing. But you know I think I got more sour wine from my parents than my inlaws. Huh.
    But Grandparents are good for Babsinges and other babies. Plus, you can leave her with them and sneak out for some, well you know, adult fun.

  4. kirk says:

    Good luck with the gig. I might be joining the ranks of the unemployed next month as well. I don’t have a sugar spouse and I have spoiled cats that won’t eat cheap kibble.

  5. meno says:

    That baby looks hungry. Why are you holding her like that? I think she wants a sweater.
    Yeah, i banned my mother from coming to visit for three weeks after my child was born.
    Hey, i hope whatever you would like the best works out. Either with a job, or fixing up the house and being a SAHD.

  6. big bro says:

    Here’s to hoping that the family cocktail of advice you receive leaves you stirred and not shaken.

  7. SM says:

    So yeah, I totally misunderstood and though last week was your last week, but now I remember you telling me that you were for sure employeed up to the 31st. My bad.
    And I totally understand what you’re saying about the “family cocktail” there. I recently wrote about how my in-laws craziness/nervousness around my son makes me nervous. I seriously swear that if my FIL tells me or anyone else to “watch his head” when holding the baby, I will punch him in the mouth! The kid has been holding his head up since the day he was born and he’s NOT going to break!

  8. Gwen says:

    My in-laws are inexplicably mannered enough never to question my parenting.
    Or, no, wait. Maybe they’re just too drunk all the time to even notice that parenting is occurring.
    One or the other.

  9. Chris says:

    Sugar Spouse sounds like a very appealing name for a breakfast cereal. “Contains 100% US NPo daily allowances of 9 essential household tasks…”
    Best of luck with the in-laws…may peace find you and follow you.

  10. churlita says:

    Good luck with the job possibility. If I could afford it, I would love not to have to work, but who can afford it?

  11. Matt says:

    I’ve always wanted a sugar spouse.
    House repair is always satisfying. My project is almost finished. I’m currently taking a break from finishing the tiling on this lucky snow day…
    I love my inlaws. I guess I’m just lucky in that regard. They stay out of our business – sometimes to the extreme that they don’t even come and visit even though they live about 12 minutes away!

  12. Matt says:

    Oh yeah, clever surname you’ve picked for this week!

  13. egan says:

    Justrun – tonight we might have cocktails with the inlaws. We will have dinner with them so you never know what could transpire.
    Bob – you’re so damn right about that one. Don’t advise unless asked, that’s what I say. Now I have to think how good I’ve been about this in practice.
    Maggie – what is adult fun and why are you winking?
    Kirk – is your company laying off people too? That’s no bueno. The cats, the Audi, the Apples… what will happen? Good luck.
    Meno – maybe I could be a SAHD and walk the malls or something. It would make for some great blogging material. Time to sell ads on my blog?
    Big Bro – I’m not sure which is less desirable in your equation, shaken or stirred.
    SM – I think they have an uncanny ability to get under our skin, provided we let them. I do my best to ignore, but sometimes I have to step it up. Yesterday I had to assert myself with our lack of TV, not a fun convo.
    Gwen – now I’m curious about the truth, drunk or just blissfully unaware?
    Chris – you could be onto something. Let me market this to General Mills and see what happens. Royalties coming your way.
    Churlita – there’s a way we can swing it for a little while, but ulitmately I will need to work if we want to keep Baby Singe in daycare. I can take her out of daycare, but I might lose my mind. I need adult interaction, even if it’s only virtual.
    Matt – house repair is very satisfying. It’s as rewarding as doing yard work and I mean it. It’s a win/win situation if done right. I require a steep learning curve though. I’m envious of your inlaw situation.
    Matt – merci mon ami!

  14. emma says:

    So I’m confused – you taking the job, not taking the job, staying, going? Regardless, it sounds like you’re still pretty grounded about the whole thing, so kudos to you! But please do clarify for those of us following the drama of it all.
    I can’t imagine what it must be like with in-laws in house. I don’t let my PARENTS stay with me. And I pretty much have a 48-72 hour rule when visiting them.
    Good luck fixing all the appliances!

  15. Think Jacob says:

    Scary, though. Not the best time to be out of work, but you are a very positive person (or so I gather) so I’m sure things’ll go just groovy. Cheers!

  16. Can you come help my hoeny do his honey do list?

  17. egan says:

    Emma – I hope my email to you cleared this up a bit. But yeah, I still not sure what’s going to happen. No official job offer and I’ve signed the company severance papers. So that’s where it remains with two days officially left.
    Think Jacob – thanks man, I see no reason to hang my head. It’s not like I did something wrong to warrant getting laid off. It’s just unfortunate.
    Princess Extraordinaire – sure, for a fee though.

Leave a Reply

