You’ve Come a Long Way Baby

18mos
Dear daughter,

You’re 18 months old now. When will you stop growing? You’re walking and babbling like nobody’s business. You continue to bring us immense joy and laughter. We love how you wake up in the morning and sing to your doggies in your crib. That’s easily one of my favorites.

You’re close to being able to put on your your own shoes. You try your hardest to get yourself dressed, but you’re a couple months away from this happening. We love how you attempt to read books to yourself even though you have no clue what’s it says.

Name an animal and Baby Singe will mimic their sound or action. It’s truly remarkable how well she imitates. I caught her reading an Eric Carle book about monkeys in her crib last night as she gently pounded her chest. See, she’s my offspring alright.

In less than a week I will be doing the single dad thing again. Mrs. Lessinges is headed to Mexico for a week long surf camp. She didn’t take any vacation last year due to using all her vacation hours while on maternity leave in 2007. She’ll attend surf camp with a handful of her co-workers. The trip south should be a great time as it’s much deserved.

Baby Singes, we love you! These tribute posts to my daughter are hard because there’s so much I want to say. It’s hard to summarize the happiness our little girl provides. It’s a very real thing. We have tiny squabbles over bike riding, climbing up the stairs with a pen in her hand, etc., yet I wouldn’t change a damn thing. Do you suppose our parents could write about us the way we write about our children?
============
Finally, I landed a new job at my present company. This is a good thing for a couple key reasons. The biggest being I got a better job title and a decent pay raise. My company really stuck their neck out for me which makes me feel valued. This means I can buy the new Guitar Hero III game and sing at the top of my lungs. Someone please get this Silversun Pickups song out of my head. Have a stupendous weekend friends!
============

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Baby Singe, Grown-ups, Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to You’ve Come a Long Way Baby

  1. justrun says:

    Wow, baby love, surf camp, AND a new job? Thank you, sir, for making me feel a whole lot better than the 5 o’clock news did!
    Way to go!

  2. kirk says:

    The best part is about getting the new gig at your current employer is you don’t have to pound the pavement and find a new gig. I hope in your new position you won’t start off right away with the nail clipping in your cubicle.

  3. Chris says:

    I’m glad you landed a new gig at your old gig and that because of it you can gig at home.
    As far as Baby Singe – the miracle of life is just that.
    Have fun NPo!

  4. meno says:

    Oh yayness on the job. And even more yayness on the daughter. I like reading about her because it’s like a little trip back in time for me from when mine was a wee one.

  5. Your baby is so adorable and congrats on the new job! Hooray!

  6. Bob says:

    Nice to hear some good news for a change. Now you need to get 600,000 more people a job and we’ll turn this mess around.
    I second the cuteness of your offspring.

  7. emma says:

    Great news all around, Egan! Congrats!
    I must say, I’m jealous of your wife’s surf camp trip – what a blast that will be for her.
    And baby girl is too damn cute. How do you refrain from eating her up?

  8. egan says:

    Justrun – three weeks ago, I wasn’t sure this would have a happy ending. I’m relieved to not have to pound the pavement. I’m sort of lazy about sending out resumes. Thanks.
    Kirk – you’re so right, the actual process of getting prepped for each interview sucks. Let’s hope you can avoid any layoffs. I will avoid clipping my nails.
    Chris – I’m sure N-Po will have much fun at her surf camp. It’s much deserved.
    Meno – I’m here to share stories of her growth. This post could have been so much longer, but I didn’t want to bore the non-kid lovers. Someday you’ll have to meet her.
    Charles – thanks sir, I hope the Philippines are treating you well. Nicer weather than your homeland.
    Bob – if I could find jobs for 600,000 people I’d be famous. Maybe everyone can start blogging for a living. Any news on your situation?
    Emma – thank you very much. Maybe you can join her at the surf camp. She’s never surfed before so this should be a fun time. She’s fairly adaptable so I can’t see her having a tough time. I don’t eat my daughter because then I might have to explain what happened to her to my wife. That’s never a good thing.

  9. She’s precious!I love how much you adore her..
    Congrats on the new job!

  10. What did I tell you about the job?! I love being right.
    And Baby Singe is as beautiful as ever.

  11. SM says:

    Babe Singe? That is Baby Singe? She’s so grown up!!! Gah! You’re right – how does this happen so fast?? And she’s making monkey noises already? Wow. You must be so proud!
    I agree with you about the tribute posts – they are hard to write with out going on and on and on and sometimes what you really want to say is just so damned hard to put into words. I get it now.
    And once again, congrats on the job. Hopefully your blogging won’t suffer with this new job of yours. Wait…should that be the other way around?

  12. Actually, I grew up in the Philippines and then moved to Norway. Came back again to work on something but now it’s done so I am going back to Norway in a couple of weeks. I considered Norway as my homeland because it’s the only place that I felt that it’s home.

  13. sizzle says:

    I’m so happy for you that you got a new position at your company. 🙂

  14. Felisa says:

    Congratulations on the job!
    Your baby is absolutely adorable! It never ceases to amaze me how fast children learn at that age… they’re just a ball of fun and surprises. It feels like they were just days old yesterday and the next thing you know, they’ve developed their own sense of humor. 🙂 Enjoy your alone time with the baby while Mrs. Lessinges is away!

  15. Matt says:

    Too cute (but not as cute as mine, sorry!).
    Congrats on the job. It’s nice to feel valued at work. Just remember that when you become the big cheese.

  16. Amanda says:

    You must be one very happy man with such a wonderful baby girl and a fantastic new job (with more pay)! Congratulations!
    You did a really good job with the tribute to your daughter. I wish I could be as eloquent so that Aaron would be able to look back on it some day. What he’ll have are my scribbles in pencil 🙂

  17. Mone says:

    Hey you are lucky! Good news overall, life is good, I’m happy for you. Have a nice weekend.

  18. Medio Pomelo says:

    The really important emotions in life are so damn hard to express in words. Sorry, I’m wrong. They are impossible. I can, however, get a grip of how much you love Baby Monkey Girl from how you write about her… It is great, you sound truly happy my friend.

  19. Michelle says:

    I hardly ever do tribute posts to my children, I can hardly ever find the words or I’ll end up crying instead (like when I wrote Elliot’s third birthday message) Your little sounds adorable. Especially the monkey noises.
    Congrats on the job!

  20. Kaylen says:

    I love that the tribute to your (beautiful!!) baby ended with: I got a raise so now I can get Guitar Hero 3. 🙂
    That’s funny.
    I find it very admirable that you are trusted enough to be left alone with this baby girl—-MANY many fathers still have no clue what to do with babies, YAY for you for being a “real” dad and having life under control. Admirable, for sure.
    Totally jealous of your wife’s surf trip!

  21. thistle says:

    This is a happy post! Congrats on finding a new position within, and without the tedium and stress of pounding the pavement. And the Baby Singe sounds as if she will soon be showing you how it’s done on the Guitar Hero thing…eep… adolescence…right around the corner.

  22. tori says:

    This post makes me smile like crazy. I can feel your love for both your daughter and your wife, and that is an awesome thing.
    I am so happy for you about the job too. What wonderful news!

  23. churlita says:

    Life is good. You got a better job and you have a beautiful and healthy family. You deserve all the good in your life.

  24. JLee says:

    Congratulations on your new job!! I am so happy for you. Baby Singe is a sweetheart and you’ll only enjoy her more as time goes on 🙂

  25. egan says:

    Princess Extraordinaire – you think I adore her enough? I think so. Yeah, new jobs rule.
    Essentially Me – damn right, you nailed this one. (ummm, yeah…) You had a gut instinct or something and it was right on the money.
    SM – it might impact blogging a bit, but let’s hope it’s not too drastic. It truly is amazing how fast the little buggers grow up. I’m very proud of her ability to make all sorts of noises.
    Charles – I’m not sure you could pick two more polar opposite countries to reside/live/call home. Very cool.
    Sizzle – thank you kindly. I hope things in the new role are exciting and new.
    Felisa – thanks, it amazes a parent how fast they grow especially when you start checking out their pictures from a few months ago. I’m sure Baby Singe will miss mom, but we’ll make sure she has lots of fun in the process. I love her sense of humour already and I didn’t think it was possible. She “gongs” songs I try to sing in the car. How sweet of her.
    Matt – I don’t think you have to worry about me becoming the Gros Fromage anytime soon. Your daughter must be very cute then, that’s what I’m saying.
    Amanda – your posts about your son are quite touching. Your love for Aaron is always apparent, but I do thank for the nice words. Yes, I’m happy. It’s a good thing to not have to look for work these days.
    Mone – thanks, I have zero complaints at this time. I had a good weekend so thanks for the well wishes.
    Medio Pomelo – this comment of yours is very sweet and strike a nerve. Thanks for your keen observation about me and my daughter.
    Michelle – I think as a parent we appreciate who are children that it becomes difficult to share our emotions. There’s nothing at all wrong with crying as it’s just an extension of our feelings.
    Kaylen – hello and thanks for swinging by my blog. I’m not sure “trusted” is the word I’d use since being a parent means looking after our kids, but I know what you mean. Yes, all good things to those who wait. I got a promotion so I must be able to buy a fun game as a reward. My wife is pretty dreadful though. Thanks for the visit and comment.
    Thistle – you’re so right, Baby Singe will be showing me how it’s done in no time. She’s a pretty smart kid and has more rhythm than her dad, which isn’t hard.
    Tori – thank you very much. Happy posts are all the rage these days, or so I’ve been told.
    Churlita – I got a nice stroke of luck and I couldn’t be more happy. Have a good week.
    JLee- I sure hope so because we really enjoy her now. She makes us smile so often that I forget what made us laugh before she came into our world. Not true, but it sounds like the thing a parent should say.

  26. qt says:

    She is adorable. And I always knew you’d land on your feet, friend.

  27. Jason says:

    Congrats E! That’s quite a turn of events, eh?
    Best of luck in the new post.

  28. jaded says:

    Congratulations on the promotion! Living in limbo is the absolute worst.

Leave a Reply

