Sunday Gut Check

My feet are propped up while I take a short break on the couch. This morning we visited our friends who have a brand spanking new two week old baby boy and a daughter who is eight months older than Baby Singe. It was nice to see them as it made me realize how far our little one has already grown. 

Our girl is currently in her crib winding down before her daily nap. Mrs. Lessinges is in bed catching up on some rest. I will head out the door shortly to purchase some groceries and when I get back, I fully intend to go for a run.
Typically when my daughter naps, I nap. I need to take the opportunity to exercise though. 

Playdate
After our busy morning, the comfort my feet and body are enjoying is hard to pass up. I do know my body and mind will thank me later if I do choose to run. This is what my life has become these days. Why else do you think I'd create a blog post on my BlackBerry?
My goal to regain form is to run three days a week and perhaps hit the pool a couple times per week as well. So there you have it. Ten minutes of thought in my life. I'm off to read another story to a restless toddler/crash in my bed while overhearing the baby monitor. 

Edit: the latter won.  Yep, I sort of took a nap after typing this post.  Once again, the run got put on hold as I caught up on some sleep.  Maybe it's time to get a treadmill.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Baby Singe. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Gut Check

  1. justrun says:

    You can thank me, because I thought of you on my run today and I had no idea why until now. You needed the ESP. 😉
    Seriously, glad you’re getting out there. Have fun!

  2. emma says:

    Good luck with the running. I look forward to hearing all about it from my place on my couch. Pretty soon I’m going to be like that lady they had to pry off her toilet seat.

  3. Felisa says:

    Good luck with getting more exercise! I’m trying to go to the IMA a lot more often now too. That way, I can stop blaming the rain for keeping me unhealthy.

  4. egan says:

    Justrun – I let you down though, I didn’t get out there and pound the pavement. I got to start getting to bed earlier so I’m not so wiped out in the evenings.
    Emma – I don’t have much to report since I dozed off instead of running. Heck, I didn’t even do the grocery shopping. My wife went down after she woke from her nap. We’re a good team. Not the toilet seat lady, nooo!
    Felisa – the IMA is a great idea, but I don’t think I’d pass as a student anymore. The rain did let up when I could have run, but I opted for a very satisfying nap. I rule.

  5. Michelle says:

    Ha. We have a treadmill and I still haven’t run in 2 weeks. There’s always something better to do, including sleep. My goal for this week is to run at least 3 times, hopefully 4. Good luck on the running.

  6. Gwen says:

    Ack! Welcome to my life! I have snow as my excuse, though (even with those running shoe crampons, er …).
    This is definitely the winter of my body’s discontent.
    (Don’t get a treadmill; you’ll never use it and running outside is exponentially better for you. Plus, I can’t imagine napping being any less tempting when the other option is a loud, huffy piece of machinery.)

Leave a Reply

