Not The Situation Room

Something is wrong. Something is completely amiss with our political system. I have to say it’s downright annoying me. Currently there’s much debate about the health care reform. I’ll just put it out there that I’m supportive of the President’s health care plan and leave it at that.

During the President’s speech last night some politician, purposely left nameless, decided it would be wise to burst out “you lie” when Obama discussed how illegal immigrants won’t be covered under his health care reform plan. I’m not really sure this person shouting from his chair understands protocol, but whatever.

Here’s what bugs me. The justice has been swift for this guy as he’s already issued an apology to the President. I don’t believe the guy has much integrity behind his words, but at least he apologized. Just before composing this blog entry I saw a Facebook Update how a “grassroots” campaign already raised $400,000 for this guy’s future political opponent. This is all well and good, but part of me thinks our country is behaving like eight year old boys on a school playground. Can’t we let this guy dig his own grave instead of all these knee jerk reactions? Giving him any extra press only rewards him for his outburst. My guess is someone stupid enough to say this has likely already ruffled plenty of feathers, making his re-election complicated.

The shouting out during the health care forums, ad campaigns created by MoveOn.org, boycott after boycott… will it ever end? I’m happy people feel so passionate about politics because they’re important. However, I do think there needs to be civilty on both sides. Listen to the issues, speak when the other person is finished, take deep breaths, and realize how we’re all in this together. This is our country to collectively improve so let’s do it.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Opinionated. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Not The Situation Room

  1. Chris says:

    Very well said. The republican party has lost most if not all of its credibility as it has completely sold out to the fundamentalist Christian “right”. I consider myself a christian but there is no place for religion in politics. While I do not agree with the core fundamentals of Republican fiscal or political ideals (before the religious right took them over), at least they were based on tangible ideals.

  2. justrun says:

    As usual, I couldn’t agree more. People are acting a little insane, or immature as some might say. The thing that pisses me off the most, other than that certain Congressman being so ridiculous and clueless, is that guess what everyone was talking about today? It took a lot away from the President’s words. I doubt that was the strategy of that certain Congressman, but, gee, didn’t that work out swell?

  3. Rachel says:

    So well said. I saw the fundraising for his opponent and was completely turned off, despite disagreeing with his outburst.
    I believe these are issues we can solve if people would take the time to think through things and listen to each other. But maybe that’s overly optimistic.

  4. egan says:

    Chris – I think I last identified with the Republican party when I was a war mongering youth, about 17 or so.
    Justrun – I know, I was so done hearing about the incident. Yes, I know it’s silly for me to say that since I’m blogging about it, but you know. Heaven forbid we have a president actually willing to tackle tough domestic issues.
    Rachel – optimism is a good thing so don’t change your thinking. I too was completely turned off. Why should I throw money behind the guy’s competitor when it seems like the guy’s own words will do him in? That money could definitely go to more noble causes.

  5. churlita says:

    Amen. it all seems so immature and uncivilized.

  6. JLee says:

    You’re right. A big bunch o’ babies!

  7. Pants says:

    I feel strongly about politics, though lately, I have found myself feeling more saddened and frustrated. Everything is always a fight and the more I learn and read, the more it seems people are just getting plain ugly. I’ve noticed the ugliness quite a bit as of late (especially) on Facebook; not so much even from people I know, but friends of friends, leaving really horrible close-minded comments about anything the tiniest bit political and it’s all so very disheartening.

  8. sari says:

    People are much more willing to bitch about things than actually try to make a difference.
    No one can expect change, growth and progress unless they’re willing to actually change, grow and progress themselves.

  9. I agree. I was shocked when that guy made his outburst. I was like, “what are we, heckling in highschool?” I was amazed that there was that disrespect, no matter one’s viewpoints at that time, voice it differently, people, ya know?

  10. LiLu says:

    I agree wholeheartedly. It’s great that the passion is there, but let’s be people, not barbarians, yes?

  11. Yup, I’m with you on this. I totally think he was in the wrong and the level of disrespect he showed his own President is breathtaking.I’m shocked at how both sides have gone on in the days after discussing his outburst- both in the rallies for and against him. And what kills me is that his shouting was based on him being mistaken about what Obama was talking about in the first place. It’s a sad state of affairs when a lone man can take all the spotlight of one of the most important speeches Obama will make as President in his first term, and off a topic that affects every single citizen in the U.S.

  12. egan says:

    Churlita – now only if I can get Mr. Konceited Kanye to read this post. Man was that ever a poor showing on his part last night.
    JLee – there are better ways to impact change than the ways currently being attempted. I think they’re such a putoff, most will just shrugh their shoulders and move on.
    Pants – I’ve seen some unpleasant exchanges on Facebook too. I’ve also had many recent comments of my own deleted. One was warranted, but a few were me just speaking my mind on a topic. Lame. Don’t give up hope though.
    Sari – you’re right. I’ve been in a Midnight Oil kick recently and they sang many politically charged songs in their day. The lead singer went on to be a politician. Some say he sold out; I think he did a noble thing by actually trying to affect change.
    this new place – yep, it was a dumbass move and the apology didn’t really fit the message. He still wouldn’t backpedal on the issue of coverage for illegal immigrants.
    Lilu – barbarians are only cool in movies, in real life they’re silly. They’re excuses are even sillier.
    Brandy – do you think there’s a chance this outburst of his was planned? Do you think his aim was steamroll this health care debate? God forbid we actually address issues important to our citizens without declaring war on countries. You couldn’t be more right about this.

  13. Golden says:

    Okay, it’s the ‘nosey’ in me.. but I’d love to know what in the heck you said on FB that warranted a deletion! 😉

  14. egan says:

    Golden – one that got deleted was a rather inappropriate comment on someone’s site viewed by family members. That was very wrong. The other ones were about hot political topics.

  15. Maggie says:

    No you’re just wrong. Neener neener neener.
    –in case you didn’t read the sarcasm there, I don’t really think you’re wrong, but did I get the 8yo boy attitude right? Ha!

Leave a Reply

