Crib Notes

Swedishbambi I have a daughter, she likes things. She enjoys learning and making up stories with her stuffed animals. I’m not so sure she likes napping though. I dread the day when she stops napping because it gives us a chance to nap as well. Yep, I’m a vicarious parent.

Last weekend we had a busy Saturday visiting friends. Baby Singe almost fell asleep in the car on the way home for lunch and her nap. I carried her inside, read her a few books, and then put her in her overpopulated crib. She plays and chats with the stuffed animals as I imagine most girls her age do.

Mrs. Lessinge and I go down to the basement to relax in front of the TV. An hour later our daughter is still awake in her crib. She’s not winding down at all. I decide to wander upstairs and take a peek on her. I open the door and started laughing because Baby Singe was completely naked. She removed all her clothes and was just playing in her crib. I was very impressed and highly amused. “Mrs. Lessinges, you need to come up here and see why our daughter isn’t sleeping”.

Last night I was just about to hit the sack when the little one wakes up. She immediately says “I want to sleep in mommy and daddy’s bed”. I scurry up the stairs and notice she’s fully clothed, meaning her pajamas were still in place. Unfortunately her sheets were wet. We had our first full on bed wetting incident. This would probably happen every night… if every night she took off her diaper in the middle of the night.

Baby Singe took off her pajama bottoms, then took off her dry overnight diaper, and slyly pulled her pajama bottoms back up. Not sure why she did this, but it’s not the best way to stay dry overnight. It does get daddy to read a few more Care Bear books though in the middle of the night.

================

Since we’re talking about plumbing issues, we had to spend $1500 to fix our pipes after a wash cloth slipped down the drain again. We’ve lost at least two down the drain that I know of. I once snaked our bathtub drain and found lots of hair and a shampoo cap. 80 year old houses aren’t known for their equisite plumbing, but they do have fantastic charm.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Baby Singe, Games, Grown-ups, Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Crib Notes

  1. jaded says:

    I’m betting she stripped off the diaper because it was bulky or itchy. Good idea..except for the sheet change.

  2. tori says:

    Our house is new and I find all kinds of crap when I snake out a drain.
    Your daughter is adorable. None of my kids did that at night but two of mine sleep walked and had night terrors. I think it is way more cute to take her diaper off than to walk around screaming although both sort of have the same result of a woken up parent who has to fix things.

  3. egan says:

    Jaded – you could be right, but my thinking is she stripped it off because it’s fun and then she can convince her dad to sleep on the floor next to her crib. Yes, I’m a sucker.
    Tori – new houses are probably less likely to have plumbing issues, but I hear you. I learned the proper way to snake the drain too. Apparently I’ve been doing it wrong all these years.
    Night terrors. I think Baby Singe has had a couple of those so far. She’s still in a crib so sleep walking has occured yet. Honestly we’re not anxious to get her out of the crib either. She will be up over and over since she can open the bedroom door. How did that transition work for you?
    Oh, I was up when she woke up. I was wrapping up my online activities when I heard her over the baby monitor.

  4. SM says:

    Oh dear god I’m having a panic attack right now. Because I’m pretty sure that these kind of shenanigans are in store for me as the boy gets older. he’s already trying to drop his afternoon naps and he’s constantly taking pieces of clothing off.

  5. egan says:

    SM – we got one nap in on Sunday this weekend. She didn’t nap on Saturday though and didn’t nap at all the previous weekend. The good thing is she does nap at school. Don’t panic, all kids are not created equal.

  6. mez says:

    lol, that is classic!! Is she toilet trained yet? I feel this nappy take off bizzo might become a regular event – sounds fun!

  7. egan says:

    Mez – part of me is excited for the naps to go away. I love the napping, but I don’t enjoy scheduling around her naps. She’s half potty trained. She’s pretty good about peeing, but still working on the other one. She did poop at home this weekend and I may have been a tad bit excited and just may have taken a photo of the event.

  8. Jayne says:

    Crikey, long time no see and the gorgeous bub has just about all growed up!
    Have fun with this age it flies by too quickly 😉

  9. Steph says:

    Awww but she’s so cute! I’d let her get away with anything 😉

  10. Maggie says:

    I’m thinking your drain has got a large appetite.
    And your daughter is a budding nudist, but then most kids her age are. It’s a fun stage till they try the nudity trip in the middle of the grocery store.

  11. egan says:

    Jayne – hey, nice to see you back around these parts. I’ve heard time flies with children and it is very true. A year ago she just started walking and tonight I walked her jump up and down on her bed before conking out for the night.
    Steph – I do let her get away with anything. It’s darn tough to be stern, I can save that for the teenage years right?
    Maggie – our drain is old, but now it has been replaced. Did one of your kids actually run around naked in a grocery store? That would be super funny to witness.

  12. mez says:

    what do you mean a washcloth slipped down the drain AGAIN? What the hell kind of drains do you have? Are you washcloths doll sized? How on earth can they fit down the drain? Photo please!

  13. egan says:

    Mez – ha, they are wash cloths we bought when Baby Singes was about the size of my forearm. It was about three inches by three inches and about as thick three pieces of paper. Oh, our bathtub also didn’t have a drain plug, but now it does. Are we still talking about wash cloths?

  14. yah. well. they will continue to do things that don’t make sense…YOUR WHOLE LIFE

Leave a Reply

