Out of Office: Jury Duty

There are times when I don't feel I have much to share on this blog. Usually it's because I lead a boring life now that I'm a parent whose triathlon pursuits have passed me by.

For the next two weeks I will be a juror in a criminal trial. As a juror, the judge gave us instructions to avoid media and to not conduct "individual research". Of course this pertains to the trial at hand, but it's a good reason to avoid newspapers, websites, radio, etc.

You can bet I will have plenty of content because my first three days in court have been very eye-opening.

Favorite court/juror observations: 

Dude using BlackBerry during hearings, same guy's cellphone going off twice in courtroom during voir dire, sleeping on the floor in the juror waiting area, plenty of people making completely new friends based on jury duty.  It should be an educational two weeks.  More to come my good friends.  

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Out of Office: Jury Duty

  1. LesleyG says:

    Oh my gosh, jury duty. And interesting jury duty, no less. May the force be with you. Or something.

  2. i think jury duty is really cool actually. i sat on a criminal case and really dug it

  3. brookem says:

    so you were picked!

  4. churlita says:

    It sounds interesting. I can’t wait to hear about it after it’s all over.

  5. Gwen says:

    I’m so envious. Take lots of notes (yeah, of the trial, too, if you must).

  6. SM says:

    I can imagine the people watching would be pretty rad. With my luck, I’d be so engrossed in watching everyone else that I’d accidentally shut out the trial.
    Have fun!

  7. Lora says:

    I’m a little jealous. They never want me.
    Enjoy the experience!

  8. Chris says:

    May the experience be fulfilling my civic duty fulfilling friend.

  9. egan says:

    Everyone – one more week of testimony. I have taken many notes and look forward to sharing more about the case.

  10. Golden says:

    btw.. I wanted to say.. your life is far from boring now that you are a parent!

  11. Maggie says:

    My one experience as a juror, we were on a murder trial. I loved it. It was the most fascinating and satisfying thing I’ve done in service to others. I try to tell people to stop shying away from jury duty. It’s awesome.

  12. egan says:

    Golden – very true as you well know.
    Maggie – I would never ever shy away from jury duty. Sadly many due, but I’m really happy I got to be part of it. The trial wasn’t fun, but I’m happy we reached the decision we did, more to come about that very soon.

Leave a Reply

