Every Person Has Their Story

Well this time it seems official.  My nearly nine year run at my current company will come to a screeching halt May 7th, three days after my 37th birthday.  This was announced to me last Wednesday at the end of the day.  I had no clue it was in the works until my boss booked a One-on-One with me for the end of the day. Something felt off.  So much so that I IM'ed my coworker, stating how I suspicious I was about my meeting.

A similar situation was presented to me in January of 2009 where it was stated my current position would no longer exist after a given date.  In that case at the very last minute, after spending a week in limbo, I was offered an account manager position.  It was a challenging job with lots of new tricks for this old dog, but overall I liked the new challenges and enjoyed the different perspective.

So you may be asking, will I try to find something internal before May 7th?  Nope, I'm ready to move on and assess my career.  The job market is in much better standing than January of last year.  I will get severance and my vacation time paid out so I'm set for a few months.  Honestly, I think it will be a good thing and I'm not looking back.  I've had lukewarm work feelings since after this January's jury duty.  Work has been insanely busy the past year which has prevented me from taking care of myself.  Jury duty provided an opportunity to explore my own city during lunch.  It was fantastic playing tourist in my own town and had me craving a change of pace in my personal life.

Oddly enough, I did some chatting with the voices in my head last week.  I told myself it's time for Mr. Singe to be selfish again.  I haven't been taking care of myself as I should.  Now this can change.  I'm excited to get some house projects done.  I'm excited to get my ass back in shape again.  I'm excited to start anew.  I can do this.  I've got mad skills that are desirable and it's just about communicating the message to potential suitors.   This is the sort of thing that tests us a humans and I'm ready to succeed.  

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Don't Quit Your Day Job, Humans are Good, Storytelling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Every Person Has Their Story

  1. sprizee says:

    I’m excited for you too!

  2. egan says:

    Sprizee – I'm embracing this news much more than the previous one. I see better things ahead. Lunch?

  3. LesleyG says:

    I’m excited for you! Even though it was different circumstances, I had the same opportunity to move on from a place I wasn’t enjoying and now, six months later, I couldn’t be happier. There are still unknowns, of course, and still stress but knowing that you’re using your life and brain differently and better is pretty much priceless!

  4. egan says:

    Lesley – did you get a new job within the same company? Sometimes that can make all the difference in the world. That happened for me way back in 2003. Now, I'm ready to venture out and test the waters.

  5. this is excellent news amigo! i’m sure you’re full of worry and anxiety with this big change, but you’re a talented dude – you will rock this party

  6. logo™ says:

    wow
    Well, way to embrace the unknown!
    Can’t wait to see where you follow the road. It’s going to be good, and it will be nice to have some time to work out, and hang out, and whatnot.
    Here is to pursuing a bright future!
    Run, bitch, run
    :p

  7. meno says:

    May 7th? That’s pretty soon. I look forward to hearing about your adventures in a search for the new life you will lead.

  8. kirk says:

    Yeah, that surprise 1:1 is what got me too. Except it was schedule for first thing in the morning for me. I was past due to GTFO of that last gig and although poor and unsure of my next gig, I am happy to be away from the last gig.
    I hope you have time to explore your inner Eganess and spend time with your kiddo. I also hope you find a rewarding new gig.

  9. brookem says:

    i know it sounds corny, but in every kind of situation like this, an opportunity presents itself. this is your chance to be truly self indulgent. take the time you need to explore different careers and ideas and options. go outside and play. enjoy yourself. take good care of you. you deserve it. i have a good feeling about this one, and though the initial news itself is kind of shocking and could be life changing, YOU are the one who can control that change for the BETTER. good luck to you friend.

  10. Felisa says:

    Well I’m really glad you’re looking into the positive side of things instead of lamenting change. I wouldn’t say it’s being selfish… I think we all need to do that every once in awhile… to take care of ourselves. Our society makes it seem like such a bad thing but I think it’s really important to get rest, feel good about yourself, etc. before you can effectively fit yourself back into a niche around other people. The best of luck to you! 🙂

  11. emma says:

    Rock on! Look forward to hearing more as you embark on this new adventure.

  12. Bob says:

    I wish I had your confidence. Way to take the news and turn it into lemonade.

  13. Lora says:

    I’m starting to get a bit envious of the people who get this sort of axe. You don’t have a choice but to pack up and move on, and you are making the best of it.
    Good on you for doing it with a brave face and a great attitude

  14. Gwen says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the layoff. I hope your positivity sustains you until you find your next gig.

  15. Moi says:

    I love your approach to this Egan. Good for you, and good riddance to Old Place of Employment. 🙂

  16. egan says:

    Van – thanks for the support. I will rock this party. I feel like I can dream big again, whatever that means.
    Logo™ – I’m impressed you remember the Run Bitch Run slogan. Well done. I am sure this will turn into a great opportunity down the road. It has to as far as I see it.
    Meno – May 7th can’t arrive soon enough. Very odd to be here in the office as a lame duck. Let’s do lunch again?
    Kirk – damn those faux One-on-Ones. I had a feeling the hammer was about to drop. My inner Eganess is stoked for the future. Nervous, but excited to see where I go.
    Brookem – you’re very right and good at what you do. I really like what you have to say about this which is why you’re so perfect for your job. I will take good care of myself, that is priority number one. As long as I take care of myself, good opportunities will happen. You rock!
    Felisa – thank you, I will find that niche before it hides in some tucked away corner. There are so many things to do and life is way too short to lament a business decision my company made. Once you become a parent it’s very difficult to be selfish, but I must take time for myself. No time like the present to do so.
    Emma – well this blog should definitely get more attention while I’m unemployed.
    Bob – thanks hombre! No sense fretting over something I can’t change. This can work out to my advantage. I will hone my Wii skills.
    Lora – last year when this happened I was completely on the fence about my predicament. This year, I’m excited for something new. I’ve got a big portion of my life ahead and I gained some great skills at this job. [raise the curtains] I know what you mean because I’ve felt envious of others as you have. Now it’s my turn to take the reigns.
    Gwen – thanks, I’m going enjoy the new discoveries ahead. Maybe I can learn a new language or something. See you in Italy this summer? Layoff, schmayoff….
    Moi – hey, great to hear from you lady. I guess I do have this job to thank for my chance to meet you. That was a fun trip to Detroit. I hope you and the family are doing well.

  17. churlita says:

    What a great attitude! Good luck with everything. I’m very sure you will kick ass.

  18. egan says:

    Churlita – thanks, I’m going to whip my ass back in shape and then take on the world. Not quite like a superhero, but close.

  19. egan says:

    Churlita – thanks, a week later I’m feeling pretty good about the news and the outlook ahead. Just not thinking about new work yet, which I probably should. Nah, what’s another week?

  20. sari says:

    Hey, good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

