Wandering Washington

Sunset on the Pacific

The last two weekends in August were fantastic.  A few weekends ago we took Baby Singe on her first overnight camping trip. The following weekend was spent on the Washington coast in our 3rd annual Mancation.

The camping trip went pretty well.  I wasn’t sure if Baby Singe would sleep at all in our new tent or not.  At home she’s got an established routine, complete with white noise and a nightly bath.  Sleeping under the night sky in a campground on the northern flank of Mt. Adams at nearly 4,000 feet is a drastic change.   Baby Singes handled it with flying colors.  It did get chilly overnight with temperatures dipping into the upper 40s.  Thankfully I bought her a kid’s mummy sleeping bag and she quickly learned how to sleep face down with the bag fully engulfing her.  As a concerned parent, I had to check her a few times during the night to make sure she wasn’t too cold and was breathing.

Stubborn child alert: each morning it was quite cold.  However, our daughter insisted on not wearing a coat or putting on warmer clothes that we bought  her specifically for the trip.  She preferred to shiver in her short sleeved shirt.  She’s in for a rude awakening when fall officially arrives.  I guess I can’t blame her for loving her dresses though.

Oh yeah, we went on the camping trip with another family from Baby Singe’s daycare.  This was a great decision for many reasons, chiefly the kids did a marvelous job entertaining themselves since they’ve been in the same class since about five months old.  We also learned more about each family.  It seems, as a parent, our lives can get so busy we  have less time to learn about others.  Yes, this is being said by an unemployed man with ample time on my hands, but it still holds true.  Oh camping, I’ve missed you and vow not to desert you for such a long period of time.

The last weekend of August I got together with a handful of college buddies.  We spent a few days on the Washington coast.  Being a native Washingtonian, I honestly haven’t spent much time on the Washington coast.  For some reason the Oregon coast was chosen over the Washington coast in my youth.  I will say I was pleasantly surprised with the Washington coast during our Mancation.  There’s tons of stuff to explore whether it be the beaches, the sand dunes, the rain forests, the coastal towns or the huge national park.

Not being remotely interested in fishing, one of my buddies and I skipped out on the group’s ocean fishing adventure.  Instead we drove north along the coast to the Twilight town of Forks.  The town used to be known as as a depressed logging town, much like Aberdeen.  If you haven’t heard of Aberdeen, maybe the name of Kurt Cobain will ring a bell.  I mention this since it gives perspective on how depressing Forks used to be.  Today though, the town is overrun by teenage girls hoping for an Edward or Jacob sighting.  I personally didn’t see any cute Volvo coupes though.

My buddy and I made a few stops on the way back to the rental house, including a drive down a logging road to a World’s Largest Western Red Cedar tree or the Duncan Cedar as many call it.  Nothing like a tree 19 feet wide to provide a little perspective.  If I could, I would wander the Northwest taking pictures of large trees.  Trees amaze me in so many ways.  As I’ve made quite clear, I do love me some nature and was very fortunate to get to spend much time outdoors during the month of August.

This weekend, we’re headed out of town again.  My friend announced his engagement a few weeks ago and is throwing a party for all.  I’m quite honored to be a member of his wedding party next April.  That’s really a blog post for another day.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Storytelling, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wandering Washington

  1. Chris says:

    While I myself am no longer a fan of roughing it, I applaud you for exposing the young Singe to things like this….quite terrific.

  2. Chris says:

    I did a fair amount of camping when I was a scout, as a young teen. I’ll put it this way, I’m quite the puss now – I need a bed and a private bath and shower to even be reasonably comfortable. A nice picnic or a fishing trip, even a nice hike ki can handle but only if afterward, I have some comfy cozy waiting for me.

    • egan says:

      Chris – thanks for the explanation. I don’t feel the need for the shower, but I know that’s a creature comfort many choose not to skip. A bed, well that might be a requirement after my poor sleep from the most recent camping event.

  3. A says:

    I’ve never been a fan of tent camping. We always camped in an RV – but that was because after I was born my mom made it known to my dad, that after over 10 years of tent camping, she would no longer do so with 3 kids. So most all of my camping experiences have been the more “luxurious” variety.

    Sounds like the mancation was fun! Glad you’re still doing those!

    • egan says:

      A – well I was very envious of those in RVs or trailers after two of the worst nights I’ve ever had tent camping. I was so damn uncomfortable, but it was fun to see Baby Singe “roughing it” with her school friend.

      I think the Mancation is a nice tradition. Next year we’re thinking about doing “luxury” camping so we can wander off and do whatever floats our boat.

  4. sari says:

    I always like taking pictures of sahuaros…each one is different and strange, so I understand the tree thing.

Leave a Reply

