Coming out of Retirement

My first work week at the new job is complete. I’m excited with how things are looking so far. The initial week at a large company can be daunting, mainly for security purposes. It’s no secret I’m (indirectly) working for Microsoft under a two year vendor contract.

It’s fair to say I’ll be much busier than I was at my previous job. This is a good challenge since my previous employer didn’t push me as much as I’d like. Yes, I’m ready for the test. My manager is helpful and direct. There are four of us who started last Monday and I’m probably the youngest of the four. Three of us are parents so we hope this will keep the work/life balance in check, a known pitfall at Microsoft.

As a unit, we should make a formidable team. I’ve felt comfortable enough to be myself already, unleashing some wickedly sarcastic comments. However, I need to keep it in check as to not offend others. Sarcasm can cause problems if people don’t know the person using it very well. I’m just so damn thrilled to socialize with people again outside my household.

Oh yeah, the campus… so big and with many perks. Free drinks such as pop, juice, Dr. Pepper, mineral water, and coffee. This is unfamiliar territory for me. It’s nice to feel pampered. The buildings display great works of art created by fellow employees.

Next week will be crazy busy as we get completely immersed in our work. I get Friday off though to celebrate my friend losing his “single” status. No better place to go than Mt. Bachelor. Speaking of single guys, there seem to be lots of them at Microsoft. I’m just saying. It’s nice to be a working stiff.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Chomage, Current Affairs, Don't Quit Your Day Job, Humans are Good, Raging Dork, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Coming out of Retirement

  1. msbrookie says:

    Ha ha! That last part made me laugh. Maybe I’ll check back a year from now and see if there are any singles left! You are so right about the sarcasm though. I L-O-V-E sarcasm and hate to waste it on people who don’t “get it”. But maybe you’re wise to let them get to know you first a bit. Glad to hear your first week was a good one!

    • lessinges says:

      Ms Brookie, it sounds like you may not need to meet any single guys based on how well things are going with Phoenix. Sarcasm can be risky so next week I will definitely take it down a notch. I love using it because you can ask honest and uncomfortable questions with a grin on your face.

  2. Chris says:

    It’s good to have new content here and of course, that you are working. I can understand why you might wish to tame the sarcasm at the job but please, have at it here – we thrive on it 🙂

    I noticed you differentiated between “pop” and “Dr. Pepper” – I know the term “pop” changes from region to region – where I grew up we didn’t use it at all so I ask for educational purposes hoping for a response with an informative answer with shades of sarcasm.

    • lessinges says:

      For me the term for soda has always been pop. I’m not sure if it’s based on geography or what I heard in my family. As far as the Northwest goes, most everyone here says pop and not soda or Coke… that’s what I’ve noticed.

      Chris, I hope to keep this place fresher than 2010 when I think I wrote six posts on the blog all year. It was downright pathetic.

  3. Michi says:

    Ah!!!! I think I love your new job!! 🙂 Congrats again. 😉

  4. Michi says:

    P.S. I wouldn’t worry about the sarcastic comments for too long, people seem to take a liking to you fairly quickly!

    • lessinges says:

      Michi, you’re too kind. I think the four of us who started together get along pretty well. We give each other bad times, but know when to pull it back in. So yes, I’m quite pleased with how the first three weeks have gone.

  5. lessinges says:

    It has been a marvelous first three weeks. I don’t have a single work related complaint. My commute is the biggest adjustment, otherwise I’m super happy with how things are going. Thanks.

  6. Felisa says:

    Oh Microsoft… Why do I feel like 1 in every 5 working people I know works for Microsoft?
    My sister’s boyfriend used to be the guy who planned all the fun events/freebies to keep the employees pampered. He liked to call himself an events coordinator — I called him a party planner 😛 Anyway, glad you’re enjoying all the perks and the imminent challenge that comes with it!

    • lessinges says:

      Felisa, I indirectly work for them as a contractor. But yeah, there are tons of employees at Microsoft. I’m still amazed how huge the campus, it feels like the UW minus the 1:1 male to female ratio. Your sister’s boyfriend did a good job pampering the employees. They have it pretty good over there in Redmond. Thanks for comment.

Leave a Reply

