This posts needs advertising

You bet, this will be short and sweet. I’m about to write a blog about the weather. The deal is it has been a pretty miserable last five months in Seattle. I want to enjoy a long sunny summer day. I’m tired of worrying about leaks in our basement, leaks in the bathroom window, soggy grass, and landslides all around the city/region.

I know, after having watched what’s unfolded in Japan, this seems rather trite.. and that’s true. I don’t want to take anything away from their situation. I’m simply saying, Mother Nature, we get it. Now can you let Seattle dry out a bit?

I have seen plenty of wet weather living in the Northwest all my life, but I really could do with some sunshine and dry weather. The daylight hours are slowly getting longer and I’m clinging to the hope warm days are ahead. My daughter keeps asking when she can wear her sandals and dresses. This morning she demanded when it will stop raining because “I’m tired of the rain”.

So there you have it gang, a blog post from yours truly about how I wish it would stop raining. I said I’d never write blog post entirely about the rain, but it happened. I’ve clearly reached my breaking point. The two mid 70 degree days in Vegas were such a tease, damn you Vegas and your promiscuous ways.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Curmudgeonly, Who Edits a Blog Entry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This posts needs advertising

  1. Jessica says:

    I’ve been begging the weather for a thunderstorm…but seeing as I live in CO, it might bs awhile before that happens….

    • egan says:

      Don’t they have a saying in Colorado, “if you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes”? That’s what my buddy from Englewood tells me, but sometimes he makes stuff up to seem cool. Thanks for visiting Jessica.

  2. Michi says:

    First of all, I love the cute picture of Anna! I just can’t believe it! I remember reading your blog posts about your wife’s pregnancy, and now your baby girl is 3!!

    Second of all, I completely understand what you mean about the rain. When people think of Spain, they think “sunny,” but that’s only during tourist season. This year hasn’t been too bad, we’ve only had 4 months of non-stop rain (which has resulted in major wall crackings and crumblings) and I’m eagerly awaiting those warm summer days and being able to wear MY dresses and sandals! Here’s to sunny weather!

    • egan says:

      I know, those three years have flown by in some respects. In some ways though it seems like just yesterday I was holding a six pound kid with no hair.

      I’m so anxious for the rain to go away and that needs to happen now. Water will find its way into any cracks and the results can be quite unfun. Bring on the sandal and dress weather. Cheers!

  3. LesleyG says:

    We’ve had an unusual number of cloudy days here lately, and I keep remarking how it’s like the Northwest. But we have the exact opposite of rain: high fire danger. I think we’re all ready for a change.

    P.S. Your little girl is more adorable than ever. What a cutie!

    • egan says:

      High fire danger? Is that because of lighning strikes or have you not received much rain this winter? Thanks Lesley, she’s a very cute kid and says the funniest damn stuff. I love her.

  4. msbrookie says:

    I know what you’re talking about! I used to live in Vancouver and couldn’t get over the amount of rain. I thought it was over exaggerated by some – but nope. They were speaking the truth. I know live on the other side of the Rockies and although there are days during the winter months where our high gets to -35C (yes … I said “high”), at least it’s a clear blue sky and the sun is shining. Days like those don’t last for 5 months either, maybe a week long stretch here and there. But no matter. I’d take it over 5 months of straight rain. And yes, Vegas is a slut. 🙂

    • lessinges says:

      Fives months of gray has taken its toll. I need some sun or at least a stretch of dry days stat. It has been so wet for so long this winter. Spring is just around the corner, or so they say.

      So glad we can agree on the Vegas thing.

  5. Felisa says:

    Your daughter is just too cute!
    Oh I was THIS close to breaking about it too. It hasn’t been the kind of rain that I don’t even notice. I’ve gotten drenched the last couple of times that I forgot to bring my umbrella with me. Fortunately it’s sunny today… and I think it will be for the next few days. I fully intend on wearing dresses and sandals like it’s nobody’s business and I think you should let Baby Singe do the same even just for like 3 days 😛

    • egan says:

      Felisa, she’s a charmer. I fall for her tricks almost every time, but I’m allowed to because I’m her dad right? I’m really liking the four sunny days we’ve had over the past week. Just keep these coming and I will be much better. I need to not worry about water getting int my house. Baby Singe wore her borrowed princess dress to school today. I love it.

Leave a Reply

