With Sugar on Top

In four short days my friend Scott will tie the knot.  This has been on my mind ever since our Vegas bachelor party a couple weeks ago.  It blows my mind I have known my college friends for nearly twenty years.  These are people who didn’t know I existed the first 18 years of my life and have had a profound impact on my life the past two decades.

Anyways,  I can’t say enough great things about Scott.  For those regular readers of my blog, you’ve most certainly heard me mention his name a few times.  When I think about what makes Scott so special, it’s his ability to bring people together.  He’s truly a uniter and not a divider. This isn’t something that comes naturally to most human beings.

I will admit one of my biggest faults is making quick judgements about people.  Sometimes my assumptions are right and sometimes they totally miss the mark.  Sometimes I write people off without completely knowing their situation.  Perhaps I use cues about them such as how they drive, talk, engage others, dress, mannerisms, etc.  My buddy Scott is able to look past these sorts of things and I think it makes him very noble.  I’m impressed with the wide range of personality types seen during our weekend in Vegas.  It proves his ability to make friends with all sorts of people.

I have many wonderful stories about Scott.  We did a lot of things together during the college years and during the 18 months I lived in Portland.  Even though we  haven’t lived in the same city since 1998, we’ve done a good job remaining connected.  And here’s something I can say about any of my friends, I think the follwing is what defines true friends.  It doesn’t matter how far the distance or how long since you last spoke, friends pick-up right up where they left off.  No awkwardness, no attitude, no confusion.

I know my buddy is anxious to get married.  He’s found a special person he wants to spend the rest of his life with. I remember how I felt nearly tens years ago on the cusp of getting married.  To me the underlying feeling was love and potential.  I felt like doors would open with my wife by side.  I’m here to say that has happened.  She’s challenged me, she’s made me laugh, made me think really hard, and given me reason to pause.  She’s been there for the ups and the downs.  This is what marriage is about; it’s a tough gig, but well worth the rewards.  Whether it be your spouse or your friends, the bond of a spouse and friends is undeniably strong.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Doting Dude, Grown-ups, Mrs. Lessinges Approved and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to With Sugar on Top

  1. LesleyG says:

    That is probably one of the best compliments you could give someone. Your friend sounds like a wonderful person, and it’s always special to see wonderful people in our lives happy.

    • lessinges says:

      He really is a great guy. It should come as no surprise that we asked him to marry me and my wife. I can’t believe I head down there tomorrow and he will be married a day later. It will be fun to see how he grows into his new life.

  2. Chris says:

    If I’ve learned anything in my life it’s that we are all just works in progress. You are a good dude and I wish for much happiness for your friend in his marriage and of course for you to have a blast at the wedding.

    • egan says:

      We had a blast at his wedding. It was really nice to see him so happy on his wedding day. He confessed Sunday that his wedding day was easily his best day ever. I loved hearing this.

  3. msbrookie says:

    I’m on the same page with you regarding friends from college, or in my case, university. I was not one of those people who love high school. I found my real and true friendships with the girls I met in University and to this day, 12 years later, they are still some of my best, best friends. We always pick up right where we left off and we have never gone more than 2 years without seeing each other now that we’re scattered about every where. Hope the wedding was fantastic and best of luck to your buddy!

    • egan says:

      Ms. Brooke, I love you spelled out the “university” and “college” difference. I had a discussion on that topic over the weekend. My buddy Scott is a Canadian so all his pals from BC kept saying “grade 3” and such. It’s charming. But yeah, I enjoy being able to pick-up right where we left off. It’s the mark of a true friendship in my book. We make a point to get together at least once a year as a “mancation”. It’s a fun new tradition of ours. My peeps from high school are good, but not as good as the ones you live with during those college years. You learn so much more about them when you have to share a bathroom, a party, or clean-up of the bathroom after the party.

  4. Mary says:

    Egan, I’ve enjoyed following your posts for years and today (4/21) I find a password requirement? I’m hoping you’ve had no problems from the internet world but would welcome a chance to continue following your adventures. How does one go about getting the password??

Leave a Reply

