Not as Bad as Expected

In no less than three short weeks or so, two significant changes will likely be official. The house will be gone and the marriage will be severed for good. Wow, what a banner year 2011 has been.

Actually though, on paper this year should suck. In all honesty though it has been much better than 2010. I don’t have as many complaints as one might assume. I will be happy the year is over, but I have much good to build upon for 2012.

Two of my best friends got married this year and two other friends became parents for the first time. I landed a decent job back in February and have had some time to reflect on myself and what motivates me, other than ice cream. I’ve been reaffirmed that my friends are incredibly great people and most importantly, divorce doesn’t have to be painful.

20111024-205922.jpg

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Blog Fodder, Current Affairs, Grown-ups and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not as Bad as Expected

  1. msbrookie says:

    Divorce definitely doesn’t have to be painful. I think it’s still a little more painful for RAB than it is for me because I’m the one who ended things, but we have remained friendly and civil throughout the entire process. I’m so thankful that it’s been drama free. Glad to “hear” from you again!

    • lessinges says:

      Thanks Ms. Brookie. So far it has been fairly amicable and that’s a good thing. As we both said to each other, neither of us are bad people… we simply grew apart. I hope things will continue this way for myself and you and RAB. I aim to check in her more often. Thanks for reading.

  2. Lesley G says:

    What a great revelation, and a lesson for whatever the future brings. There is some quote by some old guy that says something like 99% of our worries never happen and while I am doing a horrible job remembering the actual quote, I try to remember the idea of it all the time.

    • lessinges says:

      I think there’s great truth in worries. I’m hopeful to see the good in my past, present, and future. There’s still much to be thankful for about my marriage. I learned a lot about many many things and I really don’t have too many regrets.

  3. Chris says:

    You have a good outlook – that’ll take you far. May 2012 be all you hope for.

  4. Amanda says:

    That certainly sounds like an eventful year. Good to hear that you’re optimistic about 2012.

    • lessinges says:

      Amanda – this has been a year I will definitely not forgot for many obvious reasons. I thought last year was crazy, but 2011 has easily topped it. All in all, it’s not too bad given the ugliness I’ve had to endure.

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

