State of the Man

In three days time I will be on a plane headed to Arizona with my girlfriend. It will be our first trip on a plane together. It’s my first flight in two years when I went to Vegas for my buddy’s bachelor party. Spending some relaxing time in the sun next to a pool will be blissful.

I’m staring my fortieth birthday in the face. I’m honestly not too freaked out about it. Things are on the up and up for me so I’m optimistic my forties will be a solid decade.

Work is going well, I owe a lot less money on my taxes than I expected, I still have full head of hair, people continue to mispronounce my name, I don’t require a listening device at movies, and the next few weeks will be lots of fun between the travel and my big four oh celebration. These are all good things.

At work I get to use my French skills at least twice a week leading two training calls per week. It feels nice to use my second tongue again. It’s been a few years since I last used my French skills regularly so I’m pleased it’s happening. Sure I’m a bit rusty, but it’s definitely improving each week. So much so that there have been times when I’m teaching the English class and nearly say words in French. I consider this a very good thing. I’m certain my dreams in French are just around the corner. Parfait!

Bring on the birthday and all that lies ahead. I’m ready for this!

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to State of the Man

  1. Snarky Baker says:

    Dear God….40? Seriously? How is that possible?

    Also, how on earth do people mispronounce your name. This baffles me.

    I hope you have a wonderful trip and wonderful birthday, old man!

    • lessinges says:

      Snarky Baker – it’s possible because I was born way back when that Nixon guy was leading the country. Way back before there were Ataris in stores or even a thing called Teletubbies. People mispronounce my name because they all want me to be the dude from Ghostbusters. My birthday was super memorable. Hope you’re doing well. I owe you an email.

  2. Sizzle says:

    Happy birthday fellow April birthday person! I hope you have a great trip and an even greater birthday. Let’s rock 40, ok? I’m fully prepared to make it awesome.

  3. Chris says:

    Happiest of Birthdays to you Mr. E-Fo! Enjoy the break and time away and celebrate!

  4. Happy Big 4-0!! I hope you had an absolute blast! 🙂

    • lessinges says:

      Michelle Elle – I had a really marvelous birthday weekend. I will not forget it forever… or at least until I turn 80. Bald eagles galore, surrounded by friends and most importantly the two most important women in my life. My daughter and my girlfriend.

  5. Emoticon Lover says:

    You weren’t kidding. It has been quite awhile since you’ve blogged.

Leave a Reply

