The D-word

The rebound is in full swing. Nearly two years have passed since I officially got divorced and I’ve emerged from the tunnel. I’m back to myself. I’m happy, I laugh, I’m employed, and most importantly I am Egan. It wasn’t an easy road as there have been tears, fears, and numerous unpaid bills. The tears, fears, and unpaid bills have vanished as stability returned with permanent employment.

I’m really excited about the future. My daughter started first grade a few weeks ago and we went on two camping trips this past summer. Oh, when I say “our camping trip”… I mean my awesome girlfriend. To preserve her good name, we’ll refer to her as MCM. She moved in with me last summer and it’s going quite well. I have two cats now who pester me to feed them and my girlfriend knows more about cheesy Disney shows than she likely ever imagined. I couldn’t be luckier to have found a more accepting person and family. My girlfriend’s family has been so welcoming of us and it feels wonderful.

About a year ago, my girlfriend encouraged me to take a job I’d typically overlook. One that paid too little, had me driving all over the city, and didn’t appeal to me all that much on paper. Three months later when the job wrapped up after Thanksgiving, I was so happy she convinced me to take the job. I laughed more than any other job and it led to my current full-time gig. It was her support during a bleak unemployment period in 2012 that allowed me to get where I am today, training people how to use software on a daily basis.

It’s funny how things can change. I recall the dark hours and days in 2010 and 2011 when it was decided I’d move out. It was hard because it came on the heels of my best friend getting married. I was in the wedding party and a few weeks later I would enter my own unknown world as a separated/divorced dad. It was truly bittersweet, happy for my friend and his marriage, but sad to acknowledge mine had fizzled.

As things stand now, my ex-wife and I have a pretty solid “working” relationship as we co-parent our daughter. It’s an important reminder that neither one of us were bad people, we simply weren’t meant to be together for the long haul. If you’re looking for me to say disparaging comments about my ex-wife, don’t. There will be no trash talking of my ex-wife on this blog. It’s not what I’m about. We got married young, grew apart, and realized we’re very different people. These things happen in life, but there are lessons that can be learned.

Learning never ends, never. Whether it’s first grade math problems, what job may be beneath us, or that silly look your loved one gives you before drifting off to sleep at night. The learning doesn’t stop, nor should it. For these obstacles are what makes us better people. Rebounding from difficult events is what puts hair on our chests.

About lessinges

Seattle native, discovering life! I like ice cream, cold cereal, and The Amazing Race.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, D word, Grown-ups, MCM. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The D-word

  1. Kim says:

    I am so glad to hear that you have found your way and it’s different and you are in a good place 🙂 Congrats on the change in jobs and balancing life and love and children. It’s never as easy at it looks and can be quite a puzzle at times.

    I have gone through a ” I just can’t seem to write about this” dormant phase. I tried to post updates on important events, but couldn’t put my heart in it writing about my thoughts or my struggles for quite awhile. The big D word snuck in (depression) and took over quite a bit of my life. I hope that period is over because I miss writing, and I miss blogging …and I have missed quite a few of my great blogger friends (which I consider you a part of ) and their life updates and insights. Nice to hear about things , glad you are back 🙂

  2. brookem says:

    Egan! So happy to hear you are doing so awesome. A wonderful girlfriend, a great job, your “little” girl starting first grade. My my. So happy for you and to hear that life is handing you some peace and happy moments.

  3. menocat says:

    I am both happy for and envious of your turn around.

  4. Snarky Baker says:

    I’ve missed you! Happy to hear all is well and that you’re happy!!

  5. Chris says:

    I am reading this on Christmas morning – such a nice thing to read. You are a good man and I am glad that you are happy!

  6. Snarky Baker says:

    You should really start blogging again.

Leave a Reply

